Last updated 23 September 2026
Insulation leads: ask which grant sold it before you pay.
Short answer: Lead Pronto sells insulation leads from £22 plus VAT, grant leads from £15 and spray foam removal leads from £75. Zapo, formerly Get Work, starts at £400 a month plus VAT, about £40 a lead on its own estimate. A click you buy yourself on an installer search costs £5.91 to £38.66.
Most insulation leads are sold on the back of a grant, and the grants keep changing. One closed in March 2026 and a seller is still selling it. So before the price, find out which scheme the homeowner was promised, and whether it's still paying out.
The two scheme dates, from Ofgem
GBIS closed on 31 March 2026. ECO4's end date is 31 December 2026.
That's how Ofgem put it on 23 September 2026. Dates move, and schemes get extended or replaced, so check Ofgem's scheme pages the day you buy a batch of grant leads, not the seller's.
Where we stand
We don't sell insulation leads. We help you get your own.
This guide is the honest version of what buying insulation leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build insulation installers a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.
What homeowners type into Google
The dearest insulation search is for taking it out.
Grants get the most searches. But the money sits somewhere else. "spray foam removal" costs £38.66 a click, about 5 times what "loft insulation near me" does, and the removal searches below add up to 2,900 a month against 2,430 for someone to fit it.
| Search | Looking for | Searches a month | Per click |
|---|---|---|---|
| eco4 grant | A grant | 4,400 | £3.94 |
| loft insulation grant | A grant | 3,600 | £3.56 |
| great british insulation scheme | A closed grant | 2,400 | £5.63 |
| loft insulation near me | Someone to fit it | 1,600 | £8.31 |
| spray foam removal | Someone to take it out | 1,600 | £38.66 |
| cavity wall insulation removal | Someone to take it out | 1,300 | £8.19 |
| cavity wall insulation near me | Someone to fit it | 720 | £9.63 |
| spray foam insulation near me | Someone to fit it | 110 | £16.34 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 23 September 2026. Search counts are monthly averages, rounded into Google's bands.
Two things follow from that. Removal is a trade of its own now, with homeowners paying to undo spray foam and old cavity fill, and advertisers bidding hard for them. And grant searches rise and fall with the grant. Searches for "great british insulation scheme" went from 5,400 in September 2025 to 390 in August 2026, after the scheme closed.
A lead pool built on a grant empties when the grant does. The installer searches don't, because someone with a cold loft and their own money still needs somebody to fit it.
Grant leads
A grant lead is only as good as the scheme behind it.
ECO4 and the Great British Insulation Scheme both work by putting an obligation on medium and large energy suppliers, not by the homeowner writing a cheque. Here's where each stood when we read Ofgem and gov.uk on 23 September 2026:
| Scheme | Status | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Great British Insulation Scheme | Closed. Installs had to be complete by the end date | April 2023 to 31 March 2026 |
| ECO4 | Extended by nine months, with no extension for GBIS | 1 April 2022 to 31 December 2026 |
Sources: Ofgem on GBIS, Ofgem on ECO and the government's response on extending ECO4.
Now read the sellers. Synergi Marketing still sells "GBIS Leads", on a page describing it as "a new government scheme" that "will run until March 2026". Geordie Leads sells "ECO-funded loft insulation enquiries" from a site called LoftGrants.com. Lead Pronto prices "ECO4 and grant leads" at £15, below its £22 leads from people paying for the work themselves. None of them dates the scheme on the lead.
- Which scheme was the homeowner told about?
- Is that scheme still open on Ofgem today?
- Can the job finish before it closes?
- If the grant falls through, will they pay?
Funded work can come back
gov.uk says "There are quality issues with some solid wall insulation fitted through government schemes". Every home with external wall insulation under GBIS or ECO4 is being offered a check, and where the work is faulty, "your installer will be asked to fix the issue". The guidance is plain that the homeowner pays nothing for it.
What comes next isn't settled
A June 2026 consultation on consumer protection under the Warm Homes Plan proposes a public register of installers approved for government schemes. The outcome isn't published yet. Until it is, treat any lead sold on "the new scheme" as a question, not a job.
Cavity work has its own paperwork, grant or no grant. In England and Wales, "the insertion of insulating material into the cavity wall of a building" is building work under regulation 3 of the Building Regulations 2010, and gov.uk lists Blue Flame Certification, CERTASS, Certsure, IAA and NAPIT as the competent person schemes for it. CIGA provides an independent 25-year guarantee for cavity wall insulation fitted by registered installers. Heat pump installers have the same grant problem with the Boiler Upgrade Scheme, which we cover in heat pump leads.
What a lead can cost
A loft top-up can't carry the lead a wall job can.
Insulation jobs run from a few hundred pounds to five figures, so one price per lead can't suit all of them. Here's what each is worth on Checkatrade's July 2026 cost guides, and the most a lead for it should cost if you win one quote in 3.
| Job | Typical price | Most a won job should cost | Most a lead should cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loft insulation, 270mm quilt | £654 to £1,206 | about £140 | about £47 |
| Cavity wall insulation removal, whole house | £1,680 to £2,520 | about £315 | about £105 |
| Cavity wall insulation, flat to detached | £950 to £4,600 | about £416 | about £139 |
| Roof spray foam removal, 3-bed detached | £3,200 | about £480 | about £160 |
| External wall insulation, semi-detached | £14,000 to £20,000 | about £2,550 | about £850 |
Prices: Checkatrade cost guides, last updated July 2026. The ceilings work from the middle of each range and assume winning a job should cost about 10 to 15 percent of what it's worth, counting the quotes you lose. That 10 to 15 percent band is a rough rule of thumb, not a measured figure.
WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR AN INSULATION LEAD?
Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth
Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.
You can pay up to about
£47
a lead, winning one in 3
- Healthy range, per won job
- £93 to £140
- Which per lead is
- £31 to £47
Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.
On a loft top-up the ceiling is about £47 a lead, so Lead Pronto's £22 fits comfortably. A cavity or removal job has room for a dearer lead. External wall insulation is a different business altogether: at about £850 a lead, the price of the lead barely matters and the quality of the survey does.
Spray foam
One seller books the foam in. Another sells the removal.
Spray foam is the one insulation product sold as leads from both ends. Watts Marketing books spray foam fitting appointments, and it settles one question on the phone before it books anyone: every homeowner "has been told that some mortgage lenders take their own view on spray foam, and is happy to proceed to a survey." Lead Pronto sells the other side. Its spray foam removal leads start at £75, more than 3 times its standard insulation lead, and it collects them through a brand it calls National Spray Foam Removal.
What RICS tells homeowners
Its consumer guide says spray foam "could affect a surveyor's professional opinion of value", that it "is not considered reversible", and to "check with your mortgage provider whether their lender policy allows the installation of such products". It also says: "Do not accept 'cold-call' or unsolicited offers relating to spray foam installations."
What removal is worth
Checkatrade puts roof foam removal on a three-bed detached at about £3,200. That carries a lead of about £160 on the rule above, so a £75 removal lead has room in it, if the homeowner really is ready to pay for the work.
If you fit spray foam, a lead that hasn't heard the lender question is a cancellation waiting for a survey. If you remove it, RICS ties foam to valuations and lender policy, so the homeowner can have a sale or a remortgage riding on your date. Either way, ask what started it before you quote.
Read past the headline
"Exclusive" means something different on every page.
Most insulation sellers in the top results call their leads exclusive or never shared. The small print under that word is where they differ, and on one page it contradicts itself.
| Seller | Price | Who else gets it | Tie-in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lead Pronto | From £22, grant £15, foam removal £75. Ex VAT | One installer, "(unless specified)" | No contract, no notice period |
| Leads 2 Trade | Not published | 1 to 4 installers, by tier | Not on its insulation page |
| Get Work (now Zapo) | £400 a month + VAT, £200 of it ad budget | "exclusive leads" | Monthly, or a yearly deal |
| Sales Fuel | Not published | Exclusive "for 30 Days" | A no-contract option |
| Leads Everyday | A flat monthly fee, not published | "never shared with competitors" | "Cancel anytime" |
| Axowa | Not published | Lists up to 12 months old | Not stated |
| Geordie Leads | By phone | Not stated | "No long-term contracts" |
Leads 2 Trade: exclusive, up to four times
The top of its insulation page says "Every insulation lead is exclusive to one company". Lower down, the same page sells Premium leads "sent out to a maximum of 3 installers", Qualified leads "sent out up to 4 times" and a Lead Vault sold "first come first served". Only the Hot Key lead, handed to you on the phone, matches the headline. It does screen out grant hunters: its criteria say the customer is "able to pay" and "not grant or fund related".
Lead Pronto: three prices, and a grant site of its own
£22 for a homeowner paying their own way, £15 for a household checking what's funded, £75 for foam removal, and booked appointments from £130. It says only 14% of its insulation leads become an appointment, which is its own figure and worth knowing before you buy volume. It also says it owns Free Insulation Scheme, which it calls "the top ranking insulation grants website on Google". So some of its leads start with a homeowner looking for free insulation. Refunds run on a rejection policy "agreed against the commercials for that campaign before it goes live", so get it in writing first.
Zapo, formerly Get Work: half the fee is the ads
Zapo has a home insulation product that sends search ads to a one-page site it builds for you. The cheapest plan costs £400 a month before VAT. £200 of that goes on the ads themselves, and Zapo puts the return at 10 leads a month. That's £40 a lead on its own estimate, and the other half of the money is Zapo's fee for placing the ads. It says leads start within 14 days.
Sales Fuel and Axowa: exclusive for a while
Sales Fuel's insulation leads are "Verified and Exclusive Leads for 30 Days". Axowa sells "telephone survey" lists in tiers, and its Tier 2 is people "collected within the last 7 to 12 months which haven't been sold for a certain period of time". Some of them are there because they "would benefit from having it done", not because they asked.
Once a lead goes to three installers, its real price is the sticker times the quotes you lose. That sum is in the shared-lead trap, and solar leads shows the same sellers working another grant-hungry market.
Everything here about Lead Pronto's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 23 September 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.
Rather have insulation leads that are yours alone?
That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring insulation customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.
See pricingBuying the click yourself
Your own ads pay on wall jobs, not on loft top-ups.
A click has to become a lead before it's worth anything. WordStream's figure for home improvement is 7.33% of search clicks turning into a lead, from US campaigns, so treat it as a rough guide. Put that against each job's ceiling and the answer changes job by job:
| Job | Search | Per lead from your ads | Most a lead should cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loft top-up | loft insulation near me | £113 | about £47 |
| Cavity removal | cavity wall insulation removal | £112 | about £105 |
| Cavity wall | cavity wall insulation near me | £131 | about £139 |
| Spray foam removal | spray foam removal | £527 | about £160 |
| External wall | solid wall insulation | £81 | about £850 |
So we'll say it straight. For loft top-ups, a bought lead at £22 beats running your own ads, which work out at about £113 a lead against a ceiling of about £47. Spray foam removal is the most fought-over search in the trade, and at about £527 a lead it costs more than the job carries. External wall insulation is the opposite: the ceiling is about 11 times what the lead costs. That's where your own ads earn their keep.
| Job | Search | Per click | Per lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Removing spray foam | spray foam removal | £38.66 | £527 |
| Fitting spray foam | spray foam insulation near me | £16.34 | £223 |
| Loft installers near me | loft insulation installers near me | £9.76 | £133 |
| Cavity wall near me | cavity wall insulation near me | £9.63 | £131 |
| Insulation companies | insulation companies near me | £8.91 | £122 |
| Loft insulation near me | loft insulation near me | £8.31 | £113 |
| Removing cavity fill | cavity wall insulation removal | £8.19 | £112 |
| Contractors | insulation contractors | £7.94 | £108 |
| Installers near me | insulation installers near me | £6.86 | £94 |
| Solid wall | solid wall insulation | £5.91 | £81 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 23 September 2026. These are bid-based estimates, so most advertisers pay less per click. Insulation searches climb as the nights draw in, so plan the spend with how much to spend on Google Ads.
What your own ads give you that a bought lead can't:
- Nobody else is sold the same homeowner.
- You choose wall, cavity or removal searches.
- Leave out "free" and "grant" searches.
- Push in October, ease off in May.
- You pay Google direct, with no margin added.
- Work with us and the ad account stays yours.
Timing
Insulation sells when the heating goes on.
Searches for "loft insulation near me" were highest in October, November and January and lowest in May and July over the last twelve months, about 2.7 times higher at the top.
UK searches for "loft insulation near me", by month
Monthly UK searches, September 2025 to August 2026, in Google's rounded bands.
Christmas is a pause, not the end
December fell to 1,000 searches and January went straight back to 2,400. Hold your budget through the new year rather than switching off for the winter.
Summer is quiet for everyone
Every insulation search we pulled dips in the summer, removal and wall work included. Keep a small budget running so the account stays warm, and have the diary clear for September.
Insulation and the ICO
The insulation fines were for how the lead was found.
Insulation has nuisance-call cases of its own, and they name the product. The ICO's position on bought data is that the buyer has to check it properly, and a seller's promise isn't a check.
Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd, £240,000
575,062 calls to people on the Telephone Preference Service between October 2024 and March 2025, often through "Avatar 'robo-call' software", with callers saying they were from a "community protection project". A WhatsApp message found by the ICO asked: "You mean use TPS data until we get pinged and then close and repeat?"
Jacksons Marketing Ltd, £130,000
232,776 calls in 2024 about "loft insulation, surveys and government grants". Callers suggested people's existing insulation "could be hazardous to health" and that "their personal details had been provided by the government - both of which were false".
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd, £300,000
2,449,380 automated calls in 2023 from an overseas call centre, to generate solar leads that were invoiced as "275x bites @ £20 each". Its director told the ICO he had since resigned from his other company because he "no longer wished to be involved in the spray foam insulation industry". On consent, his answer was: "no consent was obtained."
Lead Pronto Ltd, £30,000
Fined in November 2025 over 76,605 texts headed "Claim a Government-backed Free Boiler Grant!". It is also one of the insulation lead sellers in the table above.
Axowa's Tier 2 lists are the ones to think hardest about. People collected "within the last 7 to 12 months" sit past the six months after which the ICO says third-party consent generally shouldn't be relied on. Before a batch lands, get answers to these:
- Which website or call did it come from?
- Does the consent name my company?
- What date was the consent given?
- Was the TPS checked before any call?
- Did anyone say it was a government scheme?
Ask a seller to make marketing calls for you and the ICO can treat you as the instigator, sharing the blame. Keep every seller's consent records alongside the job file. The detail of the two 2026 cases is in the ICO's announcement, and the wider rules on bought leads are in our guide to trade leads.
From lead to survey
Qualify on the phone, so the survey is worth the drive.
Leads Do Work posts real insulation jobs on its sign-up page. Two of them show why the first call matters. One reads: "I live in a top floor flat as part of a tenement block and would like to get my roof insulated properly going into winter." Another: "Problem with damp mould in bedrooms coming from the loft after damage from squirrels/rats." The first needs to know who's responsible for the roof. The second needs a repair before any insulation, and RICS says a property "needs to be wind and watertight before spending money on improving its energy performance".
- Do they own it, and whose roof is it?
- Has the cavity been filled before?
- Is the roof sound and dry?
- Is there spray foam up there already?
- Are they counting on a grant? Which?
- When do they want the work done?
Ring back quickly. The research on how much the first hour matters is in our roofing leads guide, and a cold loft in October is no less urgent to its owner than a leaking roof.
Pricing it up at the house
Most insulation is quoted on a survey visit, so the price is usually agreed in the customer's own home. The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 then give them 14 days to back out. If your paperwork leaves out the cancellation notice, that window can run up to a year longer, and leaving it out is a criminal offence. Want to fit it inside the 14 days? The customer has to ask you to, and you want that request written down.
So which route?
Match the lead to the work you want.
Buy leads if
- Most of your work is lofts
- You can survey within days
- You check the scheme first
- The refund terms are written
Walk away if
- The scheme named has closed
- The list is over six months old
- "Exclusive" comes in tiers
- They cold-called to find it
Run your own if
- You fit external wall systems
- You want homeowners who pay
- You want nobody else quoting
- You plan past the grant dates
Plenty of installers will do both. Buy cheap loft leads to keep the vans moving, and put your own money behind the wall and removal searches, where the jobs are big enough to pay for the click and the customer isn't waiting on a scheme that might close.
Why us
Why take advice from people who run ads?
Fair question, given we build websites and run Google Ads for trades. It's why this guide tells you plainly that a £22 bought lead beats your own ads on a loft top-up, and why every seller is quoted from its own website rather than from our opinion of it.
Every seller quoted here was read on its own website, on 23 September 2026. Click prices and search volumes are Google Ads data for the UK, pulled the same day. The scheme dates come from Ofgem and gov.uk, the building rules from legislation.gov.uk, the spray foam guidance from RICS, the job prices from Checkatrade's July 2026 cost guides, and the fines from the ICO's own notices.
Straight answers
The questions installers ask before buying.
- How much do insulation leads cost?
- Lead Pronto is the only seller we found that prints a price per lead: from £22 for loft and cavity wall leads, from £15 for ECO4 and grant leads and from £75 for spray foam removal, all excluding VAT. Zapo, formerly Get Work, charges from £400 a month plus VAT, which its own estimate puts at £40 a lead. Leads 2 Trade, Sales Fuel, Axowa and Geordie Leads don't publish a price. A click on an insulation search in Google costs £5.91 to £38.66.
- Are insulation leads exclusive?
- Read the whole page before you believe the headline. Leads 2 Trade says "Every insulation lead is exclusive to one company" and then sells Premium leads "sent out to a maximum of 3 installers" and Qualified leads "sent out up to 4 times". Sales Fuel's leads are exclusive "for 30 Days". Lead Pronto says its leads go to one installer, "(unless specified)".
- Can I still buy GBIS or ECO4 leads?
- Sellers still offer both, but check the scheme before the lead. Ofgem says the Great British Insulation Scheme "closed on 31st March 2026", and gov.uk says installations had to be complete by then. Ofgem gives ECO4's end date as 31 December 2026, after a nine-month extension. Those are the dates as they stood on 23 September 2026, so check Ofgem's scheme pages on the day you buy.
- What are spray foam removal leads?
- Homeowners who want spray foam taken out of their roof. RICS says spray foam can affect a surveyor's opinion of value and tells homeowners to check their lender's policy. They are the dearest insulation leads to buy: Lead Pronto sells them from £75, and "spray foam removal" is the most expensive insulation click in Google at £38.66.
- Is buying insulation leads legal?
- Yes, but the checks are yours to make. The ICO says a buyer of marketing data must carry out proportionate due diligence and cannot rely on the seller's word. In 2026 it fined Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys £240,000 and Jacksons Marketing £130,000 over calls about loft insulation and government grants to people registered with the Telephone Preference Service.
- Do I need to be accredited to buy insulation leads?
- Some sellers insist on it. Leads 2 Trade asks for BBA or CIGA registration, or Green Deal approval, and a year of stable trading. Separately, putting insulation into a cavity wall counts as building work under the Building Regulations in England and Wales, and gov.uk lists the competent person schemes that cover cavity, internal and external wall insulation.
- When is demand for insulation highest?
- In the search data behind this guide, "loft insulation near me" peaked in October, November and January and was lowest in May and July, about 2.7 times higher at the top than the bottom. Homeowners think about insulation when the heating goes on.
Keep reading
More straight answers for trades.
Insulation jobs from homeowners who found you, not a grant list.
See what it costs, then tell us about your business and we'll show you what your own insulation leads would look like, from people searching for an installer and sold to nobody else. Got a question first? Just message us.