Last updated 15 October 2026
Tattoo artist leads: what Fresha, Booksy, Bark and a Google click cost per booking.
Fresha takes 20% of a new client's first session when they find your studio on its marketplace. Booksy's Boost takes 30%. Bark sells credits you spend to reply to somebody who wants a tattoo, and a convention booth is £400 to £500 plus VAT for the weekend. Buy the click yourself and a tattoo search costs £0.97 to £7.34.
"tattoo shop near me" alone gets 110,000 searches a month in the UK. Which route is cheapest depends on the size of the piece: a commission is small on a £75 flash piece and large on a day sitting, while a click costs the same whatever they book. Below is that sum, the sellers in their own words, and the council rule that catches artists out on a guest spot.
Straight from Fresha's help centre
"If you or your team cancel an appointment on the client's behalf, the Marketplace new client fee will still apply."
That is from Fresha's page on new client fees, read on 15 October 2026. The same page says the fee has a cap for higher-value services, and the pricing page doesn't say what it is. For a studio whose clients reschedule, those two lines matter more than the headline rate.
Where we stand
We don't sell tattoo leads. We help you get your own.
This guide is the honest version of what buying tattoo leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build tattoo artists a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.
What a booking is worth
A commission suits flash. A click suits the day sitting.
UK studios price by the minimum, the hour or the day. On their own price pages the shop minimum runs from £50 in Mansfield to £100 in London, a half day is £180 to £260 and a full day £350 to £450 outside London. A London studio puts a day with its artists at £500 to £1,000 or more. A detailed half sleeve in Liverpool is £700 to £1,000, and a London full sleeve £1,500 to £5,000 or more.
Here is what one new client costs on a single session three ways: Fresha's commission, Booksy's Boost commission, and your own ad on "tattoo shop near me" at about £15 a lead, if one enquiry in 3 books.
| Session, at its middle price | Fresha, 20% | Booksy Boost, 30% | Your own ads, about £15 a lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| A small tattoo at the shop minimum, £75 | £15 | £23 | £45 a booking, 60% of it |
| A half-day session, three to four hours, £220 | £44 | £66 | £45 a booking, 20% of it |
| A full-day sitting, £400 | £80 | £120 | £45 a booking, 11% of it |
| A full day with a London artist, £750 | £150 | £225 | £45 a booking, 6% of it |
Session prices are from UK studios' own price pages in Mansfield, Nottingham, Kidderminster and London, read in October 2026, worked at the middle of each range. Fresha's fee has a cap it does not publish, so the larger rows may come in lower. One win in 3 is MyJobQuote's figure for its trades; nobody publishes one for tattooists. The ads column uses WordStream's conversion rate for home improvement search ads, explained further down.
On our rough rule, winning a job should cost about 10 to 15 percent of what it pays. Fresha's 20% sits above that on every session, but it is charged on a new client's booking rather than on every enquiry. Your own ad comes in at 11% of a full day and 6% of a London day, and at 60% of a small piece, which is where a bought click falls over. On these numbers, a session over about £220 costs less from your own ad than from Fresha, and one over about £150 costs less than from Booksy Boost.
Small pieces: pay on the booking
A walk-in or a flash piece at £75 costs £15 through Fresha, and only a new marketplace client pays it. Watch the small print: the fee still applies if you cancel for the client or leave the booking unmanaged. Spending £45 on ads to win the same booking leaves little of the price. A commission app earns its place on the small work.
Day sittings and sleeves: own the client
A £400 day costs £80 on Fresha and £120 on Booksy Boost, against about £45 from your own ad. A sleeve runs over several sittings, and on Fresha or Booksy the later ones carry no fee, but the client who found you on your own ad was never anybody else's to charge for.
Your numbers
How much can one tattoo enquiry cost before the session stops paying you?
It opens on a full day. Choose the piece you tattoo most, say how many enquiries turn into a booked sitting, and enter what a platform or an ad charges for each one. Try the small piece next, then the half sleeve, and watch the same lead price go from painful to small.
WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR A TATTOO ENQUIRY?
Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth
Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.
You can pay up to about
£20
a lead, winning one in 3
- Healthy range, per won job
- £40 to £60
- Which per lead is
- £13 to £20
Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.
That 10 to 15 percent band is a rule of thumb we apply to every kind of business, and nobody has measured it for tattoo studios.
Who sends you clients
Booking apps charge on the first session. Everyone else charges up front.
The trade lead sellers don't cover tattooing, so the market is two booking apps, one quote marketplace, conventions, directories and a tattoo marketing agency. Each price and quote below is from the firm's own website, and "Not stated" means the firm doesn't say.
| Route | Price | Who else sees the client | In their words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fresha | 20% of a new client's first session, min £4 | 59 tattoo shops listed in London | "No fee ever applies to your returning clients" |
| Booksy | £40 a month; Boost 30%, min £5 | Not stated | "2nd visit and beyond: 0% commission" |
| Bark | Credits at £1.80, priced per lead | Up to 5 professionals | "No commission, no hidden fees." |
| Brighton Tattoo Convention | £500 + VAT a booth | Every artist at the show | "ALL BOOTH DEPOSITS / PAYMENTS ARE NON REFUNDABLE" |
| The Tattoo Expo | £400 + VAT a booth | Every artist at the show | "per artist for the whole event" |
| FreeIndex | Free, or £9.95 a month Premium | A directory listing | "Listed above non-premium members" |
| Ink Marketing | £79, £249 or £499 a month | Your own ads | "flexible monthly rolling contracts" |
Fresha: free for regulars, 20% for a stranger
Fresha lists 59 tattoo shops in London alone. The Independent plan is £14.95 a month, and its pricing page charges a "20% one-time commission" on "brand new clients who discover your business via the Fresha marketplace", with a minimum fee of £4. Bookings through your own Instagram and Facebook links are free, and so are returning clients.
Its help centre adds three things. The fee is "calculated based on the value of their first completed appointment". It has "a maximum cap for higher-value services", with no figure given. And it still applies if you cancel on the client's behalf, or if the booking is rescheduled or left unmanaged. Fresha can take a deposit for you and decide when it becomes non-refundable, which is useful whichever way the client found you.
Booksy: a monthly fee, and Boost if you want strangers
Booksy has a tattoo shop category with city pages and costs £40 a month, with all services subject to VAT. It says it takes no commission on clients who find you through your own marketing, or on its marketplace when Boost is off. Switch Boost on and a new client's first visit costs a one-time 30%, at least £5, with "0% commission" from the second visit. The page shows no cap, so on a £850 half sleeve booked as one session that would be £255. Leave Boost off when your diary is full of big custom work.
Bark charges you to reply first
Bark has a tattoo artists category and puts the average price at £120. It prices each lead on "the service, the value of the job, and the supply and demand in the area", in credits at £1.80 that are valid for 3 months, and up to 5 professionals can respond to one customer. It doesn't publish how many credits a tattoo enquiry takes. Against an average job of £120, the price of a reply has to stay small. Bark's credits, refunds and ratings are pulled apart in is Bark worth it.
A convention is a fixed price for a weekend
The Brighton Tattoo Convention charges £500 plus VAT per artist for the whole event, and the fee "includes all licence and registration fees related to Brighton & Hove City Council". Its sister show, The Tattoo Expo at Sandown Park, is £400 plus VAT. Both say booth payments are non-refundable. Unlike a commission, you know the whole cost before the weekend, and every client you book there is yours to keep.
Directories and a tattoo marketing agency
FreeIndex has a tattooists category, free to join, with Premium at £9.95 a month or £99.5 a year to be "Listed above non-premium members". Ink Marketing, a UK agency for tattoo studios, charges £79, £249 or £499 a month on rolling contracts, the dearer two with paid ad campaigns. Its site and terms don't say how big the ad budget is or who pays Meta and Google for it, so ask before you sign.
Who doesn't sell tattoo clients at all
Checkatrade, MyBuilder, MyJobQuote, TrustATrader and Leads Do Work have no tattoo category. Zapo, which runs search ads for dozens of trades, has no tattoo page. Treatwell's categories are hair, nails, massage, face and body, with no tattoo category. If a seller cold-calls offering "tattoo leads", ask where they come from.
Everything here about Fresha's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 15 October 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.
Rather have tattoo leads that are yours alone?
That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.
See pricingWant to know how many people near you search Google for what you do each month? Message us your town and we'll send you the real numbers.
Check my areaBuying the click yourself
Somebody searching for a tattoo shop near them costs £1.09 a click.
"how to get more tattoo clients" gets about 10 searches a month. "tattoo booking app" gets 40 and costs £6.29 a click, because software firms want to sell you the answer. The clients' side is where the volume is: "tattoo shop near me" gets 110,000 searches a month at £1.09 a click. To turn clicks into leads we divide by 7.33%, WordStream's conversion rate for home improvement search ads. It comes from American campaigns in a different market, so use the last column for comparing rows, not for budgeting.
| Search | Searches a month | Per click | Per lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| half sleeve tattoo cost | 110 | £7.34 | £100 |
| how much is a tattoo | 880 | £3.66 | £50 |
| tattoo studio london | 590 | £2.57 | £35 |
| tattoo shop london | 1,900 | £2.38 | £32 |
| tattoo prices | 2,900 | £2.20 | £30 |
| fine line tattoo london | 1,300 | £2.15 | £29 |
| tattoo edinburgh | 4,400 | £2.11 | £29 |
| best tattoo shop near me | 2,900 | £1.53 | £21 |
| tattoo artist near me | 6,600 | £1.50 | £20 |
| tattoo shop manchester | 1,600 | £1.48 | £20 |
| fine line tattoo near me | 2,900 | £1.26 | £17 |
| tattoo shop | 22,200 | £1.22 | £17 |
| tattoo studio near me | 5,400 | £1.13 | £15 |
| tattoo shop near me | 110,000 | £1.09 | £15 |
| walk in tattoo near me | 1,900 | £1.07 | £15 |
| tattoo near me | 27,100 | £0.97 | £13 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 15 October 2026. Click prices are bid-based estimates, so what you actually pay will sit around them. Google reports singular and plural "near me" searches as one figure, so the table carries each once.
Price searches cost the most: somebody asking about a half sleeve's cost is £7.34 a click, and London £2.38, about £32 a lead or £97 a booked client at one in 3. That is 13% of a London day. "tattoo artist near me" at £1.50 and "fine line tattoo near me" at £1.26 name an artist or a style, which is the client a portfolio-led studio wants. Across the table, a lead from your own ads costs £13 to £100.
The tattoo searches that will never book you
Plenty of tattoo searches are somebody else. "fine line tattoo" gets 18,100 a month at £0.56, mostly people looking for ideas; add "near me" and it drops to 2,900 at more than twice the price, because those people want an artist. "tattoo apprenticeship" is 2,900 a month of people who want your job, not your chair. "laser tattoo removal near me" is a different business at £3.73 a click. Add these as negative keywords before the first pound goes out.
| Search | Searches a month | Per click | Who is searching |
|---|---|---|---|
| fine line tattoo | 18,100 | £0.56 | Looking for ideas |
| tattoo apprenticeship | 2,900 | £0.72 | Wants to become an artist |
| laser tattoo removal near me | 1,900 | £3.73 | Wants one taken off |
| tattoo flash | 1,000 | £0.09 | Browsing designs |
What your own ads buy you over a booking app:
- Your ad, so no other studio is listed beside you
- Bids on the towns you work and the styles you do
- No commission on a sleeve that runs for months
- Your prices and portfolio on your own website
- Clicks paid to Google, with nothing added
- An ad account that leaves with you
Google's teen ad protections stop ads for "piercings and tattoos" showing to signed-in under-18s on YouTube and Display, and don't name Search. Meta's policy doesn't mention tattoos, though it puts micropigmentation under its over-18s rule for cosmetic procedures. Set every campaign to 18 and over anyway. Tattooing is not on Google's UK Local Services Ads list, so standard search ads are what is left. Our Google Ads guide covers how they work for a studio, and how much to spend on Google Ads covers the monthly figure.
Before the guest spot
Your registration covers your own studio. A guest spot needs its own.
Guest spots and conventions are how a lot of artists find clients in a new town, and the council rules follow you there. In England, section 15 of the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1982 says nobody may carry on a tattooing business in an area where it applies "unless he is registered by the local authority for the area", and the premises have to be registered too. Doing it unregistered is an offence with a fine of up to level 3.
England: register with each council
Bristol charges £244.80 for premises and one person, and sells a temporary person-only registration at £65.92 "for visiting operators, or guest skin piercers from outside Bristol". Birmingham says a move to new premises needs a new registration.
London: the studio licence names you
London boroughs license tattooing under the London Local Authorities Act 1991. Tower Hamlets charges £732 for the special treatments licence and £150 per application to add new tattoo artists, and says it is an offence to "provide or advertise" the treatments without one.
Wales: book it 28 working days ahead
Tattooists in Wales need a special procedure licence. A temporary one lasts up to 7 days, must be applied for at least 28 working days before it starts, and needs a Level 2 award in infection prevention. The Welsh Government says anyone licensed somewhere else "must have a Welsh licence". Pembrokeshire charges £203 for three years, £92 for a temporary one.
Scotland and Northern Ireland too
Scotland licenses tattooing under a 2006 order, and Edinburgh's guidance says an operator working in different council areas "requires a licence from each authority", self-employed artists in a studio included. In Northern Ireland, tattooists register with the district council.
Promote the guest spot once the registration is sorted, not before. And whatever the town, the Tattooing of Minors Act 1969 makes it an offence to tattoo anyone under 18, with a defence only if you had "reasonable cause to believe" they were 18 or over. Check ID and keep a note that you did.
Once they say yes
A deposit protects the lead you paid for. Keep it a small share.
A no-show costs you the day and whatever you paid to find the client. UK studios we read take £30 to £150, or 20% to 25% of the price, take it off the final bill, and keep it for a no-show or a change with less than 48 or 72 hours' notice. One in Nottingham goes further: a no-show pays in full before booking again.
- Say in writing when the deposit is kept
- Keep it a small share of the price
- Take it off the final bill
- Send the 14-day cancellation information
The CMA's unfair terms guidance, last updated in July 2026, says a genuine deposit can be kept in full if it works as a binding reservation and the circumstances are "clear and narrow", but that it "will not normally be more than a small percentage of the price". A booking agreed by message or online is a distance contract, which usually carries a 14-day cancellation right. Under regulation 36 you shouldn't start the service inside those 14 days unless the client has expressly asked you to, and a client who cancels after asking pays for what has been supplied. Without the cancellation information, they bear no cost at all.
Through the year
Tattoo shop searches nearly double from winter to summer.
Fresha, Booksy and Bark keep their booking calendars to themselves, so the seasonal picture comes from our own pull of Google search data. UK searches for "tattoo shop near me" fell to 74,000 a month in November and December and climbed to 135,000 a month from May to August, about 1.8 times the low.
UK searches for "tattoo shop near me", by month
October 2025 to September 2026. Google Ads keyword data, rounded bands.
Sell vouchers in December
The one tattoo search that rises in winter is "tattoo gift voucher": 720 in December against 90 to 140 most months, about 5 times as many. A voucher page and a small December budget turn a quiet month into January bookings.
Budget for the summer
Searches climb from March and hold at their peak through August, so an ad budget that rises in spring meets the demand rather than chasing it. Fill the winter diary with the clients you already have: sleeve sittings, touch-ups and the people who booked through you last summer.
Before you sign up
Find out what each client costs, and who keeps them, before you pay.
Every route here is clear about something and quiet about something else. Fresha publishes its rate but not its cap; Booksy shows no cap at all; Bark doesn't say what a tattoo enquiry costs; the agency doesn't say who pays for the ads. Ask:
- Is the fee charged if the client cancels?
- Is there a cap, and what is it?
- Do regulars I bring myself pay a fee?
- How many artists see each enquiry?
- Whose card pays for the ads, and how much?
Send every regular your own booking link, not the marketplace listing, so a fee never lands on a client you already had. What sharing one client with several sellers does to your price is in the shared-lead trap.
Which way to go
Let the apps fill the gaps. Keep the big work for yourself.
A booking app if
- You do a lot of small walk-ins
- Empty slots need filling fast
- You can take deposits through it
- Regulars book on your own link
Think twice if
- Up to 5 others quote the client
- The cap is not published
- Your sessions are day sittings
- You cannot see who pays the ads
Run your own ads if
- You sell day sittings and sleeves
- Your portfolio is on your website
- You want the client to yourself
- The ad account is yours to take
A tattoo artist sells hours in a chair, so the question is what each one cost to fill. The booking apps charge once, on the first session, which suits a quick flash piece; your own ads cost the same whatever the client books, which suits a sleeve. Reviews from people you've tattooed help on both, and how to get more Google reviews covers asking for them. The same sum for a booking-app business is in personal trainer leads, and for another trade that sells dates in wedding photographer leads. How other businesses buy their leads is in our guide to trade leads.
Our sources
Where every tattoo figure here came from.
Bear in mind who is writing: we build websites and run Google Ads, so we gain if you pick ads. That is why each platform is quoted in its own words, and why the tables show Fresha beating our own route on small pieces.
Seller pages and terms were read on each firm's own site on 15 October 2026, and the UK search and click data was pulled from Google Ads the same day. Session prices come from studios' own pages, including Veronica Art Tattoo in Mansfield, Liverpool Tattoos and Hammersmith Tattoo. Tattoodo could not be opened from our network, so it is left out. Registration comes from legislation.gov.uk and the councils linked above, deposits from the CMA, cancellation from the Consumer Contracts Regulations, and the ad rules from Google and Meta.
Questions tattoo artists ask
Tattoo artist leads, answered.
- How much do tattoo artist leads cost in the UK?
- Fresha takes 20% of a new client's first completed appointment when they find you on its marketplace, at least £4. Booksy's Boost takes 30% of a first visit, at least £5, on top of £40 a month. Bark charges credits at £1.80 each and doesn't publish how many a tattoo lead takes. A convention booth is £400 to £500 plus VAT for the weekend. A click on your own Google ad for a tattoo search costs £0.97 to £7.34.
- Is Fresha worth it for a tattoo studio?
- For small pieces, often. Fresha charges 20% of a new marketplace client's first completed appointment and nothing on returning clients, so a £75 piece costs £15. On a £400 day sitting it costs £80, before a cap Fresha says exists but does not publish. Fresha also says the fee still applies if you cancel the appointment on the client's behalf.
- Does Booksy take commission on tattoo bookings?
- Only with Boost switched on. Booksy is £40 a month, and Boost adds a one-time 30% fee, at least £5, on a Boost client's first visit, with nothing on later visits. Booksy says it charges no commission on clients who find you through your own marketing, or on its marketplace when Boost is off. Its pricing page shows no cap.
- Do I need to register for a guest spot or a tattoo convention?
- Usually yes, with the council where you will be tattooing. In England, registration covers you and the premises, and Bristol sells a temporary person-only registration for visiting artists at £65.92. In London the studio's special treatment licence has to name you. In Wales you need a temporary special procedure licence, applied for at least 28 working days ahead. Edinburgh says an operator needs a licence from each authority they work in. Some conventions include it: Brighton's booth fee covers the council's licence and registration fees.
- How much deposit can a tattoo studio keep?
- The CMA says a deposit can be kept in full if it works as a binding reservation and the circumstances for keeping it are clear and narrow, but that it "will not normally be more than a small percentage of the price". UK studios we read take £30 to £150, or 20% to 25%, take it off the final price, and keep it for a no-show or a change with less than 48 or 72 hours' notice.
- Can I advertise a tattoo studio on Google and Instagram?
- Yes. Google stops tattoo and piercing ads showing to signed-in under-18s on YouTube and Display, and does not name Search in that rule. Meta's ad policy does not mention tattoos, though it makes micropigmentation ads target over-18s. Tattooing anyone under 18 is an offence under the Tattooing of Minors Act 1969, so set every campaign to 18 and over. Google's Local Services Ads have no tattoo category in the UK.
- When is the quiet season for tattoo studios?
- Winter. In the last 12 months, UK searches for "tattoo shop near me" were lowest in November and December at 74,000 a month and highest from May to August at 135,000, about 1.8 times apart. Searches for "tattoo gift voucher" did the opposite, reaching 720 in December against 90 to 140 in most months.
- Do Checkatrade or Bark send tattoo leads?
- Bark does: it has a tattoo artists category and puts the average price at £120, and up to 5 professionals can respond to one customer. Checkatrade, MyBuilder, MyJobQuote, TrustATrader and Leads Do Work have no tattoo category, Zapo has no tattoo page, and Treatwell has no tattoo category.
Keep reading
More straight answers for trades.
A diary of day sittings booked by people who searched for you.
We build your website and run Google Ads from an account in your own name, aimed at people searching your town and your style rather than a marketplace where they scroll past a dozen other studios. See what it costs, then tell us about your business and we'll build the campaign around the work you want to do.