Last updated 15 October 2026
£26 for a roller shutter lead from a home. £46 when it comes from a shop.
Leads Do Work is the one seller that prints a price per roller shutter lead, and it charges £46 plus VAT when the customer is a business against £26 for a homeowner. PromoSEO sells commercial shutter work inside its garage door campaigns from £500 a month. Checkatrade, MyJobQuote and TrustATrader list shutter firms without a published lead price. Buy the click yourself and a roller shutter ad costs £2.30 to £23.61.
This guide is for firms that fit, repair and service roller shutters on shops, units and homes. Roller garage doors are in our garage door leads guide, and plantation and indoor shutters sit with the blinds and shutters leads guide. If you searched this phrase for the alarm contacts that come on a cable lead, those are sold by security wholesalers rather than here.
Straight off a seller's feed
"20 roller shutters to be services and 3 auto doors"
That came in from Smethwick on Leads Do Work's security shutter list. It is a servicing contract for a site with twenty shutters, filed under the same heading as a single shutter sticking in the heat. One could mean years of visits; the other is a call-out.
Where we stand
We don't sell roller shutter leads. We help you get your own.
This guide is the honest version of what buying roller shutter leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build shutter installers a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.
What you are buying
A sticking shutter, a shop front and a site with twenty shutters.
Leads Do Work's public shutter feed showed 3 leads when we read it. In Bolton, a "Roller shutter sticking due to heat". In London E2, a shop owner who wanted shutters on the window and front door and was "not sure if one shutter or separate ones would be required". And the Smethwick site above. Its page says the work comes from "homeowners and small business owners", and covers manual and electric shutters, grilles and "motor replacements on existing installations".
Its price list splits on who the customer is, not on the job. Here is what each price does to a typical shutter job if you win one quote in 3.
| Job | Typical UK price | Homeowner lead, £26 | Business lead, £46 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repair a roller shutter motor | £180 | £78 a win, 43% of the job | £138 a win, 77% of the job |
| Same-day call-out plus one hour | £187 | £78 a win, 42% of the job | £138 a win, 74% of the job |
| Replace a roller shutter | £400 to £2,500 | £78 a win, 5% of the job | £138 a win, 10% of the job |
| Electric shutters for a shop front | £4,000 | £78 a win, 2% of the job | £138 a win, 3% of the job |
The motor, call-out and replacement rows come from Checkatrade's roller shutter repair guide, first published in February 2022; the call-out row is its £125 emergency fee plus one hour at £62. The shop front row is MyJobQuote's figure (October 2026). The replacement range is worked at its middle. Winning one quote in 3 is MyJobQuote's figure for its own trades; nobody publishes an independent UK figure. Lead prices are Leads Do Work's, before VAT.
As a rough rule, winning a job should cost about 10 to 15 percent of what it pays. A replacement shutter sits at 5% on a homeowner lead and 10% on a business one. An electric shop front barely notices either price. The repairs are where the business rate hurts: a motor repair bought at £46 costs 77% of the bill to win, and the emergency call-out 74%.
If a shop's shutter is stuck down
The owner can't trade until it's fixed, so speed wins the job, but a shop lead sits on the business price and the repair is small. It earns its keep if the visit turns into a replacement or a servicing contract.
If it's twenty shutters to service
That is recurring work, listed under the same heading as one sticking shutter, and a seller can't tell you which of the two is coming next. Leads like this are the ones worth chasing hardest, and the ones you'd rather nobody else was sent.
Your numbers
What can a shutter lead cost before the repair stops paying for itself?
Pick a shutter job, or type in your own average invoice. Set how many quotes you win, then key in the lead price, £26 or £46 if you're weighing up Leads Do Work. It opens on replacing a shutter. Try the motor repair at the business price next.
WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR A ROLLER SHUTTER LEAD?
Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth
Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.
You can pay up to about
£73
a lead, winning one in 3
- Healthy range, per won job
- £145 to £218
- Which per lead is
- £48 to £73
Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.
The 10 to 15 percent band is a rough guide we use across trades, taken from paid search benchmarks. It has not been measured for shutter firms.
Who sells them
Five firms sell or list roller shutter work. One prints a price per lead.
We went through the lead sellers that cover home improvement trades looking for a roller shutter page. These are the ones that have one, or a category that takes shutter jobs. Where it says "Not published", the firm doesn't give a price.
| Seller | Price | Who else gets the lead | In their words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leads Do Work, Connect | £26 home, £46 business, + VAT, £11 a week | 1 to 3 others, 5 at most | "whether the lead is B2C or B2B" |
| Leads Do Work, Smart Local | £60 for 5 to £178.80 for 20, + VAT | Not stated | "Individual lead returns are not available" |
| PromoSEO | From £500 a month | Nobody in your area | "commercial shutter projects" |
| MyJobQuote | Not published on its shutter page | Up to 3 trades | "Up to 3 local trades will then be in touch" |
| Checkatrade | £30 a month, lead plans from £59 | Not stated | "Pick a plan that fits" |
| TrustATrader | Not published, paid yearly | Limited per area | "Memberships are limited per area" |
Leads Do Work charges £20 more when the customer is trading
Its Connect price list files shutters under Security, at £26 from a homeowner and £46 from a business, before VAT and the £11 weekly fee. It says the price varies by "whether the lead is B2C or B2B" and gives no reason for the gap. Up to 5 firms can compete for one job, returns are "manually reviewed", and the contract "can be canceled anytime".
The Smart Local packs work out cheaper per lead, from £12.00 down to £8.94 each before VAT. The catch is the pack: shutters share a Security bundle with intruder alarms, smoke alarms, CCTV, gates and door entry, the pack is priced by the dearest trade you select, and single leads can't be sent back.
PromoSEO sells shutters as a corner of its garage door campaigns
It has no roller shutter page. Its garage door page lists "commercial shutter doors" among the jobs it runs ads for and lets a firm choose "commercial shutter projects". Packages start at £500 a month, each enquiry goes to "one contractor per area", and it runs a "make good policy" on bad ones. If you only do shutters, ask how many of its garage door enquiries in your area are shutters before you sign.
The directories list you and let the customer ring round
MyJobQuote's roller shutter page promises the customer that "Up to 3 local trades will then be in touch". Checkatrade has a Roller Shutters category, an Approved tier at £30 a month and lead plans from £59. TrustATrader has a Roller Shutters Installation category, bills membership a year in advance and limits memberships per area. None prints a price for one shutter lead. How sharing a customer with other firms changes what you can quote is in the shared-lead trap.
The "shutter" pages elsewhere are about window blinds
Zapo's shutter page is headed "Leads for Shutters & Blind Shops", Lead Pronto's covers blinds and plantation shutters, and Bark files shutters with blinds and curtains. None of them has a roller shutter page. If you fit indoor shutters too, those sellers are compared in the blinds leads guide.
Everything here about Leads Do Work's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 1 October 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.
Rather have roller shutter leads that are yours alone?
That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.
See pricingWant to know how many people near you search Google for what you do each month? Message us your town and we'll send you the real numbers.
Check my areaBuying the click yourself
Shop repairs are the dearest clicks. Home window shutters are the cheapest.
Nobody searches for a seller here. "roller shutter leads" and four other ways of asking returned no searches and no click price at all. The money is on the customer's side, and it splits by who is searching. "emergency roller shutter repair" costs £23.61 a click and "commercial shutter repair" £20.74, while "window roller shutters" is £2.30 and "domestic roller shutters" £2.35. For the per-lead column we assume 7.33% of clicks get in touch, which is WordStream's conversion rate for home improvement search ads. US data, so treat it as a rough guide.
| Search | Searches a month | Per click | Per lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| emergency roller shutter repair | 50 | £23.61 | £322 |
| commercial shutter repair | 40 | £20.74 | £283 |
| roller shutter repair | 720 | £14.18 | £193 |
| roller shutter servicing | 110 | £12.40 | £169 |
| shop front shutters | 390 | £12.30 | £168 |
| roller shutter repair near me | 390 | £12.12 | £165 |
| shop shutter repair | 170 | £11.98 | £163 |
| commercial roller shutters | 170 | £11.02 | £150 |
| roller shutter installation | 170 | £9.10 | £124 |
| shop shutters | 720 | £8.19 | £112 |
| roller shutters near me | 390 | £7.69 | £105 |
| industrial roller shutter doors | 880 | £5.91 | £81 |
| roller shutters | 3,600 | £4.40 | £60 |
| electric roller shutters | 390 | £3.98 | £54 |
| security shutters | 590 | £3.61 | £49 |
| domestic roller shutters | 210 | £2.35 | £32 |
| window roller shutters | 590 | £2.30 | £31 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 1 October 2026. Click prices are bid estimates, so expect to pay around them rather than exactly them.
Across the table a lead from your own ads works out at £31 to £322. The commercial repair searches are the dear end: a lead off "emergency roller shutter repair" is about £322, and off "roller shutter servicing" about £169. "shop front shutters" comes to about £168 for work MyJobQuote puts at £4,000. At the other end, 2 searches come in under Leads Do Work's £46 business lead: "domestic roller shutters" and "window roller shutters". "roller shutters", the biggest search at 3,600 a month, works out at about £60. Your own ads let you decide which side of that split you pay for:
- Bid hard on shop repairs, lightly on homes
- Servicing contracts asked for by name
- Your firm on the ad, not a seller's brand
- Shutter prices on your site before they ring
- Clicks billed by Google, nothing added
- An ad account that goes where you go
No Local Services Ads for shutters
Google's UK category list for Local Services Ads has no shutter category. The closest is "Garage door services", and Google says pre-badge ads aren't available there. So shutter firms reach Google searchers through ordinary search ads, which is what our Google Ads guide for tradesmen covers. For a starting budget, see how much to spend on Google Ads.
Before you quote a repair
A shutter that opens upwards must not be able to fall back on anyone below.
The Workplace (Health, Safety and Welfare) Regulations 1992 say that doors and gates must be "suitably constructed (including being fitted with any necessary safety devices)". For a shutter, the line that matters is reg 18(2)(b): "any upward opening door or gate has a device to prevent it falling back". A powered one also needs features to stop it trapping anyone, and must be workable by hand where safety calls for it, unless it opens by itself when the power fails. Regulation 5 puts the premises' equipment under "a suitable system of maintenance".
The 300 mm line
HSE's 2018 safety alert wants any failure in the suspension of a vertically moving door detected, preferably stopping further use, with "unintended movement beyond 300 mm" prevented before it becomes a collapse.
Shutters older than 2000
A Ministry of Defence safety alert says BS EN 12604, published in April 2000, required anti-drop devices on new doors and shutters, so older ones may have none. It also says not every old door can be retrofitted.
Servicing that comes back
Checkatrade tells its readers commercial shutters "should be serviced every 6 months". The MOD has annual competent person inspections on its own sites. Neither figure comes from the regulations, but both are the visit you sell after the repair.
A lead won't tell you any of this. "Roller shutter sticking due to heat" could be a newer shutter or one fitted before 2000 with no anti-drop device, and you only find out which on site. HSE's alert also points at section 3 of the Health and Safety at Work etc Act 1974, which it says "also applies to landlords and managing agents", so on a shopping parade it is worth asking who looks after the shutters.
Motorising a manual shutter or assembling a powered one from parts brings the machinery rules too: who counts as the manufacturer, the Declaration of Conformity, the marking. We set those out in the garage door leads guide, and the same rules for powered gates in the electric gate leads guide.
Shop fronts
The shop front lead may need the council's say before it needs yours.
Whether an external shop shutter needs planning permission is a local call, and some councils are firm about it. Rochdale's shop front guidance (2012) says "All external shutters and grilles require planning permission", including, possibly, replacements. In its conservation areas "external roller shutters will not normally be permitted", and the same goes for listed buildings. Internal lattice grilles and open shutters "would not normally require planning permission".
Appeal dismissed, May 2025
A village store in Roos, East Yorkshire, put in a new door with a roller shutter over it and applied afterwards. The Planning Inspector found that "when deployed, the shutter would add to the heavy, bulky and incongruous features", gave the crime argument limited weight because there was no evidence of crime at the shop, and dismissed the appeal.
Rochdale's report also notes that since the 2011 riots, security had been "argued unsuccessfully by appellants at appeals for security shutters across Greater Manchester". So when a shop lead comes in, ask three things before you price a solid shutter:
- Is it in a conservation area?
- Is the building listed?
- Has the council been asked yet?
Having a perforated shutter or an internal grille in the quote too gives the owner something that is more likely to get through, and keeps the job yours if the solid one is refused.
Homes against businesses
A shop owner isn't a consumer, and that changes two rules you follow.
The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 protect "an individual acting for purposes which are wholly or mainly outside that individual's trade, business, craft or profession". On our reading, a shop buying a shutter for its own premises falls outside that, so the 14-day cancellation right is a homeowner question. Even there, a visit the customer asked for to carry out urgent repairs is outside the right, while extra work agreed on the same visit keeps it.
Marketing rules split differently. The ICO says "sole traders and other types of partnerships are classed as individual subscribers", so the corner shop run by one person gets the same protection as a householder when you text or email it. A limited company is a corporate subscriber, and the email rule does not apply to it. Before you buy, the ICO also expects proportionate checks on where the leads came from. Ask the seller:
- Is this a home or a business lead?
- Which price does that put it on?
- Which website did they fill in?
- How many other installers get it?
- Can I return a blind or garage door job?
Keep the seller's answers with the lead. If a customer later asks how you got their number, those answers are your reply.
Through the year
Shop shutters stay busy all year. Home window shutters peak in summer.
UK searches for "roller shutters" sat at 3,600 in most months of the last year, reached 4,400 in September and January, and dropped to 2,400 in December, a swing of about 1.8 times.
UK searches for "roller shutters", by month
September 2025 to August 2026. Google Ads keyword data, rounded bands.
Homeowners search in June
"window roller shutters" rose to 1,000 in June and fell to 320 in December, about 3.1 times apart. If you fit domestic shutters, spring is when to put budget behind them.
One odd September
"roller shutter repair" hit 2,400 in September 2025, then fell to 720 the next month, and servicing searches jumped the same month. We found no reason for it, so don't plan next autumn around it.
Which way to go
Buy for new shop fronts. Win the repairs and servicing on your own.
Buy per lead if
- You mostly fit new shutters
- £46 is small beside £4,000
- You can reach a shop the same day
- Returns cover blinds and garages
Think twice if
- Repairs are most of your work
- Up to 5 firms can get the call
- The pack mixes in alarms and CCTV
- You work in conservation areas
Run your own if
- You want servicing contracts
- Emergency repairs are your trade
- You want the call to yourself
- The ad account is yours to keep
A roller shutter firm earns on the shutter it fits and the years of servicing after it. Bought leads can fill a gap in the diary with installs, as long as the business price is weighed against an install rather than a call-out. How other trades buy leads is in our guide to trade leads, and if you fit cameras and alarms alongside shutters, CCTV installation leads covers the security side.
Our sources
Where each roller shutter figure on this page came from.
Fair question, given we build websites and run Google Ads for trades: we're not neutral on buying leads. So every seller is quoted from its own site, and the tables show where a bought lead comes in under the price of a click.
Seller pages and terms were read on 1 October 2026, along with Leads Do Work's shutter feed, and the UK search and click data was pulled from Google Ads the same day. Job prices are from Checkatrade's roller shutter repair guide and MyJobQuote. The safety rules are from legislation.gov.uk, HSE and the Defence Infrastructure Organisation; planning from Rochdale Borough Council and the Planning Inspectorate. Local Services Ads categories are from Google's help page, consumer rules from the Consumer Contracts Regulations, and marketing and lead checks from the ICO.
Questions shutter firms ask
Roller shutter leads, answered.
- How much do roller shutter leads cost in the UK?
- Leads Do Work is the only seller we found that prints a per-lead price: £26 for a shutter lead from a homeowner and £46 from a business, plus VAT and an £11 weekly fee. Its Smart Local packs put shutters in a security bundle from £60 for 5 leads. PromoSEO sells commercial shutter work through its garage door campaigns from £500 a month. A click on your own roller shutter ad costs £2.30 to £23.61.
- Why does a business roller shutter lead cost more than a homeowner one?
- Leads Do Work prices its leads by "whether the lead is B2C or B2B", and for shutters the gap is £20. It does not say why. Most shop and warehouse shutter work comes from businesses, so for a commercial installer the £46 line is the one to budget for.
- Are roller shutter leads shared with other installers?
- On Leads Do Work, yes: its terms say 1 to 3 other tradesmen usually compete for the same job, and never more than 5. MyJobQuote sends a roller shutter job to up to 3 local trades. PromoSEO allocates each enquiry to "one contractor per area".
- Does a roller shutter need an anti-drop device?
- In a workplace, the Workplace (Health, Safety and Welfare) Regulations 1992 say any upward opening door must have "a device to prevent it falling back". HSE wants any failure of a vertical door's suspension detected, with unintended movement beyond 300 mm prevented. A Ministry of Defence safety alert notes that BS EN 12604, published in April 2000, made anti-drop devices a requirement on new doors and shutters, so older ones may have none.
- Do shop shutters need planning permission?
- Often, yes, and it is decided council by council. Rochdale's guidance says "All external shutters and grilles require planning permission" and that external roller shutters will not normally be permitted in conservation areas. In 2025 a Planning Inspector dismissed an appeal over a village store's roller shutter fitted before permission was granted. Ask the customer to check with their council before you fit an external shutter.
- Can roller shutter companies use Google Local Services Ads in the UK?
- Google's UK list for Local Services Ads has no shutter category. The nearest is "Garage door services", and Google says pre-badge ads aren't available for that category. A shutter firm reaches customers on Google through ordinary search ads.
- When do people search for roller shutters most?
- In the last 12 months UK searches for "roller shutters" peaked in September and January at 4,400 and dipped to 2,400 in December. The domestic search "window roller shutters" ran to a different calendar, highest in June at 1,000.
- What should I ask a roller shutter lead seller?
- Whether the customer is a home or a business and which price that puts the lead on, which website they filled in, how many other installers get it, and whether you can return a lead for a blind or a garage door. The ICO expects a buyer of leads to make proportionate checks rather than take the seller's word.
Keep reading
More straight answers for trades.
Shop fronts and servicing contracts in the diary, from owners who rang you.
We build your website and run Google Ads from an account in your own name, aimed at the installs and servicing contracts that pay rather than every stuck shutter in town. See what it costs, then tell us about your business and we'll point the campaign at the shutter work you want more of.