Last updated 25 September 2026

£25 a lead, for a £75 spring or a £2,500 door.

Leads Do Work sells garage door leads at £25 each plus VAT. Lead Pronto gives a guide price from £15 for installation leads, and Zapo, formerly Get Work, runs search ads for garage door firms from £400 a month plus VAT, which its own forecast works out at roughly £40 a lead. Go straight to Google and a click on a garage door ad costs £3.49 to £13.28.

Leads Do Work's price list has one line for the whole trade. The spring that snapped this morning and the double sectional somebody has been saving up for cost you exactly the same to hear about.

Straight off a seller's feed

"My garage door won't open, I think the wire has snapped"

A customer in Sandown posted that in May, and it sits on Leads Do Work's public list of garage door leads. Checkatrade prices a repair at £40 to £120. Win every repair you quote and a £25 lead is still 31% of the job.

Where we stand

We don't sell garage door leads. We help you get your own.

This guide is the honest version of what buying garage door leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build garage door firms a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.

What you are buying

Two of the ten were repairs. Three weren't garage doors at all.

The 10 leads on the feed, dated 13 May to 19 August, are a fair sample of what one price buys. Two were repairs: a Stroud door whose "arm bracket has come away as the welds have broken", and the snapped wire in Sandown. Most were new doors, from "2 rosewood insulated garage doors" in Sheffield to a Kington customer who wanted two electric roller doors and had "never had an electric roller door before". Three had nothing to do with a garage door: an "internal garage door fitted for my new build house", a "Side garage door half glass", and a "Quote for a section concrete garage About 10 x 20ft", which is the garage itself.

Here is what that single price does to each job, at Leads Do Work's £25 and at Zapo's forecast, if you win one quote in 3.

JobTypical UK priceLeads Do Work, £25 a leadZapo, about £40 a lead
Repair a garage door spring£50 to £100£75 a win, 100% of the job£120 a win, 160% of the job
A general garage door repair£40 to £120£75 a win, 94% of the job£120 a win, 150% of the job
Automate an existing single door£400 to £650£75 a win, 14% of the job£120 a win, 23% of the job
New steel up-and-over door, single£895£75 a win, 8% of the job£120 a win, 13% of the job
New electric door, single£1,500 to £2,500£75 a win, 4% of the job£120 a win, 6% of the job
New insulated sectional door, double£2,500£75 a win, 3% of the job£120 a win, 5% of the job

Repair prices from Checkatrade's repair guide (May 2026) and door prices from its replacement guide (August 2026), which gives single averages for most doors. The motor row is MyBuilder's retrofit price (August 2026). Ranges are worked at their middle. Winning one quote in 3 is what MyJobQuote expects of its own trades; nobody publishes an independent UK figure. Zapo's column is its £400 plan spread over the 10 leads it forecasts for that plan. Lead prices are before VAT.

We'd want landing a customer to cost somewhere between 10 and 15 percent of the invoice. A new door clears that easily: Leads Do Work's lead is 8% of a steel up-and-over door and 3% of a double sectional. Adding a motor to an old door sits inside the band at 14%. The spring repair costs 100% of itself.

If the call is a snapped spring

On Zapo's forecast the lead costs 160% of a £75 spring repair, which means you pay to do the job. A repair only earns if it turns into the servicing visit or, later, the new door. Both are covered further down.

If it's the side door, not the garage

A half-glass side door is a door fitter's job, with its own sellers and its own prices. Our double glazing leads guide covers that market. Ask a seller before you sign up whether you can return a lead that isn't a garage door.

Your numbers

How much can a garage door lead cost before the job stops paying you?

Choose a garage door job, set how often you win a quote, then type in what a seller wants per lead. It opens on fitting a motor to an existing door. Switch to the spring repair and then to the double sectional to see the gap.

WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR A GARAGE DOOR LEAD?

Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth

Type of job
£
Quotes it takes you to win one

Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.

£

You can pay up to about

£26

a lead, winning one in 3

Healthy range, per won job
£53 to £79
Which per lead is
£18 to £26

Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.

That 10 to 15 percent band is a rule of thumb we use across every trade. Nobody has measured it.

Who sells them

Six firms sell garage door leads. Half of them only talk about new doors.

The six sellers are below, with the two directories that list garage door firms. Every price and every quote comes from the firm's own website, and "Not stated" means the firm doesn't say.

SellerPriceWho else gets the leadIn their words
Leads Do Work£25 a lead + VAT, £11 a week1 to 3 others, 5 at most"no more than 5 competing"
Lead ProntoFrom £15 a lead, a guide priceYour choice of model"tell us which model suits your sales team"
Zapo (formerly Get Work)£400 to £1,600 + VAT a monthNobody"exclusive leads to garage door installation companies"
PromoSEOFrom £500 a monthNobody in your area"one contractor per area"
Leads EverydayNot publishedNobody"never shared with competitors"
TextBadger MarketingNot publishedNobody"100% exclusive to your business"
BarkCredits, priced by job and areaNot stated"valid for 3 months"
Checkatrade£30 a month, lead plans from £59Not stated"Pick a plan that fits"

Leads Do Work prices a spring and a sectional the same

Its Connect price list has one row, "Doors | Garage", at £25 from a homeowner and £31 from a business, plus VAT and an £11 weekly fee. Its garage door page says the work includes new doors, "electric automation upgrades" and "repairs to springs, motors or damaged panels", all at that one price. Its terms put 1 to 3 other firms on a job as well as you, and never more than 5.

Returns are "manually reviewed", so a lead for a concrete garage may come back to you as credit and may not. Its fixed-price Smart Local packs have no garage door row at all.

Lead Pronto sells installs, not call-outs

"Garage door installation leads start from £15 per lead. That is a guide price", it says, covering customers after "a brand new garage door" and those "replacing an existing one". Repairs aren't mentioned. It also sells booked appointments from £130 each, and runs campaigns under your firm's name for a fee it puts at 25% of the ad spend. Whether a lead is yours alone depends on which of those you buy. Its figures of 15% of leads becoming appointments and 82% of appointments attended come from its whole network, not garage doors. The ICO fined it £30,000 in November 2025, which is covered below.

Four agencies promise exclusivity and buy the clicks for you

Zapo "delivers exclusive leads to garage door installation companies & garage door fitters" from search ads, starting "within the next 14 days". On its cheapest plan, £200 of the £400 goes on the ads and it forecasts 10 leads. PromoSEO starts at £500 a month with "one contractor per area", lists "emergency repair work" among its jobs, and offers a "make good policy" on bad leads. Leads Everyday builds a landing site, runs Google Ads and prints no price. TextBadger Marketing promises 20 to 40 leads in 30 days or you don't pay, and only takes firms "Doing £10k+/Month". Zapo, PromoSEO and Leads Everyday all say they buy search or Google ads, in the same auction you can bid in yourself.

Bark and Checkatrade list you, and keep the lead price back

Bark prices each lead by "the service, the value of the job, and the supply and demand in the area", and its credits last 3 months. The £1,000 and £150 averages on its garage door pages are what customers pay for an installation and a repair, not what a lead costs you. Checkatrade has a Garage Doors category, an Approved tier at £30 a month and lead plans "from £59/mo". What sharing a customer with several firms does to your quote is in the shared-lead trap.

Everything here about Leads Do Work's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 25 September 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.

Rather have garage door leads that are yours alone?

That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring garage door customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.

See pricing

Buying the click yourself

Google charges most for the repairs that pay least.

"garage door leads", the search an installer would type to find a seller, gets about 10 searches a month, and nobody bids on it, so it has no click price at all. The homeowner's side is where the money goes. "garage door opener repair" costs £13.28 a click and "emergency garage door repair" £12.24, while "garage door automation" is £3.49 and "electric garage doors" £5.09 across 8,100 searches a month. For the per-lead column we assume 7.33% of clicks get in touch, which is WordStream's figure for home improvement search ads. It was measured on American campaigns, so read the last column as a guide.

SearchSearches a monthPer clickPer lead
garage door opener repair210£13.28£181
emergency garage door repair260£12.24£167
roller garage door repair320£9.49£129
broken garage door spring70£8.51£116
electric garage door repair720£8.41£115
garage door repair near me6,600£8.17£111
garage door installers near me480£8.12£111
garage door fitters2,900£7.61£104
garage door spring repair110£6.05£83
electric roller garage doors2,400£5.80£79
garage door replacement2,900£5.49£75
electric garage doors8,100£5.09£69
sectional garage doors2,400£3.71£51
garage door automation480£3.49£48

Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 25 September 2026. The click prices are Google's estimates from what other advertisers bid, so what you actually pay will land near them rather than on them.

So a lead off "emergency garage door repair" costs about £167, for a repair Checkatrade prices at £40 to £120. A lead off "garage door automation" costs about £48 for a £400 to £650 job, and one off "electric garage doors" about £69 for a door worth £1,500 to £2,500. "garage door repair near me" is the biggest repair search in the table at 6,600 a month, and the worst value to chase with a bid.

Every row works out dearer per lead than Leads Do Work's £25, at £48 to £181. What your own ads get you is control over which jobs you pay for:

  • Bid on motors and new doors, not every call-out
  • A ceiling on what the emergency click can cost
  • Your firm's name on the ad the customer taps
  • Door prices on the website before anyone rings
  • Clicks paid to Google, with nothing added
  • An ad account that leaves with you

Google's ads policy makes garage door repair firms pass Advanced Verification before they can advertise in the United States. The UK isn't on that list, which is the same position locksmiths are in here.

Google Local Services Ads

"Garage door services" is on Google's UK category list, so Google's Local Services listings are open to you. There's a catch most trades don't have: Google says pre-badge ads "aren't available for garage door services", so nothing arrives until every one of its checks is done. PromoSEO names Local Services Ads as one of its channels, which is worth asking about: whose business did the customer see? How the listings are charged is in our Local Services Ads guide, and picking a monthly budget in how much to spend on Google Ads.

When you fit the motor

Put a motor on a customer's old door and the law can treat you as its maker.

A powered garage door is a machine. The Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 start from one line: "No responsible person shall place machinery on the market or put it into service unless it is safe." HSE adds that these rules "apply regardless of whether the product is for use at work, or not", so a family's garage counts.

Who is the "responsible person"? HSE's guidance on machines made on site, under the heading "Powered gates, doors and windows", says powering a manual gate makes "a new machine", and that the manufacturer "will be whoever coordinates or undertakes the work of powering a gate. Normally this will be the installer." HSE's example is a gate. The Door and Hardware Federation, whose code of practice covers garage doors too, counts as a manufacturer "an installer if they have put together a complete product by means of various components". A complete powered door shipped from a factory is different: its maker did the paperwork, and you fit it to their instructions.

What the customer gets handed

The DHF's leaflet on automated garage doors lists a Declaration of Conformity, a Declaration of Performance, "a CE or UKCA marking plate" and operating and maintenance instructions.

What stops it crushing someone

Hold to run, force limitation or a light curtain. The same leaflet says "Provision of a low-level beam by itself, without pressure sensitivity, is in breach of the legislation", and that hold to run on a remote only counts if it "will only function at the door".

What to test before you leave

The DHF says to force test even a marked door once it's fitted, because the reading "provides evidence in the event of an incident that the installation company left the system in a safe condition".

None of this shows up on a lead. "Automated Garage Door to be supplied and/or fitted", from Castel on the Leads Do Work feed, could be a factory-made door or a motor on the customer's old one, and only the second can leave you holding the manufacturer's duties on a £400 to £650 job. Ask before you quote, and price the paperwork in.

After the sale

Swapping a spring is a repair. Adding a motor can make a new machine.

HSE draws the line for you: "simple servicing and straightforward parts replacement" don't need the machine assessed again, while "Significant modifications" can turn it into a new one, with whoever made the change treated as the manufacturer. It also says health and safety law doesn't apply to homeowners with powered gates on their own property, while still strongly recommending regular checks. The homeowner has no duty to book a service, so the reminder has to come from you.

The visit two years after fitting

The DHF recommends that sectional doors with torsion springs and canopy doors are "checked and adjusted at two years", and MyBuilder puts an annual service at £80 to £150. Every door you fit is a service to book later. A bought lead gives you one job; your own customer list gives you the next one too.

The badge customers are told to want

DHF membership requires garage door firms to take its combined safety and legislation training. Leads Do Work's own page says installers working to DHF standards "reassure customers". If you're a member, put it on your website and in your ads.

The snapped-spring call-out

The urgent spring can't be cancelled. The new door you quote while you're there can be.

The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 take a visit the customer asked for "for the purpose of carrying out urgent repairs or maintenance" out of the 14-day cancellation right. The same regulation keeps that right for "services in addition to the urgent repairs or maintenance requested". A door stuck shut with the car inside is a fair case for urgent, though that's our reading rather than a ruling.

  • The spring they rang you out to fix: no 14 days
  • A motor you suggest while you are there: 14 days
  • A whole new door agreed on the drive: 14 days
  • Starting that early: get their request in writing

That's where a repair lead can pay after all: the call-out opens the door to the motor or the replacement. Quote those properly, hand over the cancellation information with the quote, and don't treat the extra work as part of the emergency.

Through the year

Repair searches jumped one October and sagged over Christmas.

None of the six sellers says anything about seasons on its garage door page, so here is the search data instead. UK searches for "garage door repair near me" sat at 6,600 in most months, rose to 9,900 in October and fell to 4,400 in November and December, about 2.3 times lower than the peak.

UK searches for "garage door repair near me", by month

September 2025 to August 2026. Google Ads keyword data, rounded bands.

SepOctNovDecJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAug

Expect a quiet November

The dip ran through November and December and was back to 5,400 by January. That's the time to lean on servicing customers rather than raise bids.

Don't plan around one October

The plain "garage door repair" search spiked the same month. One year of data can't say whether it comes back, so treat it as a surprise that happened once.

Where the lead came from

Find out where a garage door lead was collected before you ring the customer.

Lead Pronto, £30,000

The ICO's penalty notice of November 2025 was about boiler grant texts, sent on consent tucked into Lead Pronto's privacy policy, which didn't name any of the 18 clients it was generating data for. Different product, same firm that prices your garage door leads from £15.

The ICO puts the checking on you as the buyer. It wants checks in proportion to the risk, and a seller telling you the data is clean doesn't count as one. We found no ICO action against a garage door firm; the home improvement cases are listed in our roofing leads guide.

Before you pay for garage door leads, ask:

  • Which website or ad did the customer fill in?
  • Does the consent name my business?
  • How many other garage door firms get it?
  • Is it a repair, a new door or a motor?
  • Can I return a lead that isn't a garage door?

Write the answers down on the day and keep them with that lead.

Which way to go

Buy leads for new doors. Keep the repairs for customers who already know you.

Buy per lead if

  • You mostly fit new doors
  • A £25 lead is small beside £895
  • The seller takes back non-garage jobs
  • You reply within the hour

Think twice if

  • Repairs are most of your work
  • Up to 5 firms can get the call
  • The price is only a "guide"
  • Nobody says which site it came from

Run your own if

  • You want motors and sectionals
  • You service what you fit
  • You want the call to yourself
  • The ad account is yours to take

The money in garage doors is in the door, the motor and the service after it. A bought lead can start that, as long as you pay a price the new doors carry and don't let the repairs set it. How leads are sold in every other trade is in our guide to trade leads. Weighing a directory listing instead? Read is Checkatrade worth it first.

Our sources

Where every garage door figure here came from.

One thing to know first: we sell websites and Google Ads to trades, so we have a side in this. That's why each seller is quoted in its own words, and why the tables show a bought lead costing less than a lead from your own ads.

We read each seller's website and Leads Do Work's lead feed on 25 September 2026, and pulled the UK search and click data from Google Ads the same day. Job prices are from Checkatrade's repair and replacement guides and MyBuilder's electric door guide. The machinery rules are from legislation.gov.uk, HSE and the Door and Hardware Federation's consumer leaflets. Google's positions come from its ads policy and Local Services Ads help, cancellation from the Consumer Contracts Regulations, and lead consent from the ICO.

Questions garage door firms ask

Garage door leads, answered.

How much do garage door leads cost in the UK?
Leads Do Work publishes £25 a garage door lead from a homeowner and £31 from a business, plus VAT and an £11 weekly fee. Lead Pronto quotes installation leads from £15 as a guide price. Zapo, formerly Get Work, charges £400 to £1,600 a month plus VAT to run search ads for you, and its cheapest plan forecasts 10 leads, so roughly £40 each. PromoSEO starts at £500 a month. A click on your own garage door ad costs £3.49 to £13.28.
Are garage door leads exclusive?
It depends who sells them. Leads Do Work's terms say 1 to 3 other firms usually get the same job, and never more than 5. Zapo, PromoSEO, Leads Everyday and TextBadger Marketing all say their leads go to one firm. Lead Pronto runs branded and unbranded campaigns and asks you to pick the model before it starts.
Are bought garage door leads repairs or new doors?
Both, plus some that aren't garage doors. Of the 10 leads on Leads Do Work's public feed between May and August, 2 were repairs and 3 weren't a garage door job: an internal door, a side door and a concrete garage. The rest were new or automated doors. All of them cost the same £25.
Do I need a declaration of conformity to fit a garage door motor?
If you build the powered door yourself, usually yes. The Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 cover powered doors in homes as well as workplaces, and HSE says whoever turns a manual gate into a powered one is normally its manufacturer, who must mark it, issue a Declaration of Conformity and hand over instructions. A complete powered door from a factory arrives with its maker's paperwork, and your job is to fit it to their instructions.
Can garage door companies use Google Local Services Ads in the UK?
Yes. "Garage door services" is on Google's UK category list. Google also says pre-badge ads "aren't available for garage door services", so no leads come through Local Services Ads until the business has passed every check. Ordinary search ads in the UK have no verification step for garage doors; that restriction applies in the United States.
Can a customer cancel an emergency garage door repair?
Not the urgent repair they asked you out for. The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 take that visit out of the 14-day cancellation right. Anything extra agreed on the same visit, a motor or a whole new door, keeps the right, so give the cancellation information with that quote.
When do people search for garage door repairs most?
In the last 12 months, UK searches for "garage door repair near me" peaked in October at 9,900 and were lowest in November and December at 4,400, about 2.3 times apart. Most months sat at 6,600.
What should I ask a garage door lead seller?
Which website the customer used, whether the consent names your business, how many other firms get the lead, and whether you can return one that isn't a garage door. The ICO puts those checks on the buyer. Lead Pronto, which sells garage door leads, was fined £30,000 by the ICO in November 2025 over texts sent without valid consent.

New doors and motors in the diary, from customers who searched for you.

We build your website and run Google Ads from an account in your own name, aimed at the new doors and motors that pay rather than every spring call-out in the county. See what it costs, then tell us about your garage door business and we'll build the campaign around the work you want more of.