Last updated 15 October 2026
£41 a porch lead, and nine in ten don't say how big the porch is.
For porch builders and installers in the UK: Leads Do Work is the one seller we found that prices porch leads by name, at £41 each plus VAT and an £11 weekly fee. The same porch jobs also sit inside its general building pack, at £37.20 for 5 leads. Go straight to Google and a click on a porch ad costs £1.19 to £6.44.
The size matters more than the price. In England a porch of up to 3 square metres goes up without a planning application. Checkatrade prices a 5m² uPVC porch at £7,500, and that one needs permission first.
Straight off a seller's feed
"porch size: 3m by 1m" ... "do you have planning permission: yes"
A customer in West Bromwich filled that in in July, and it sits on Leads Do Work's public list of porch leads. It was the only one of the 10 that gave a size. Three by one is exactly 3 square metres, the most a porch can be without a planning application, so whether they really have permission or just think they need it is the first thing to ask.
Where we stand
We don't sell porch leads. We help you get your own.
This guide is the honest version of what buying porch leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build porch builders a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.
What you are buying
One of the ten gave a size. Four gave almost nothing at all.
The 10 leads on the feed, dated 27 April to 18 September, are a fair sample of what £41 buys. Four were one line: "need a quotes for a porch" in Chessington, "want a quote for a porch" in Blackpool, "Looking to upgrade front porch" in Camberley and a "small porch" in West Drayton. The useful ones read like a brief: "A small, preferably brick walled porch" in Blyth, "a front porch installation with a base foundation" in Huddersfield. Then the odd ones. A Belfast lead is a window lead that ticks "porches" as an extra, a Bridgwater customer says "This is a Park Home", and one in Mold is "a large crack where the porch attaches to the house".
MyJobQuote shows a different mix. Of the 18 jobs on its porch page, 6 are repairs or movement: rotten supports, a porch that "has subsided", "door has drop and the porch has some movement". Here is what Leads Do Work's price does to each new porch, if you win one quote in 3.
| Job | Typical UK price | Connect, £41 a lead | Pack, £4.98 a lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small oak porch canopy, fitted | £800 to £2,000 | £123 a win, 9% of the job | £15 a win, 1% of the job |
| Lean-to uPVC porch | £2,800 to £4,000 | £123 a win, 4% of the job | £15 a win, 0.4% of the job |
| Small uPVC porch, 3m² | £4,500 | £123 a win, 3% of the job | £15 a win, 0.3% of the job |
| Brick porch | £5,500 to £8,000 | £123 a win, 2% of the job | £15 a win, 0.2% of the job |
| Medium uPVC porch, 5m² | £7,500 | £123 a win, 2% of the job | £15 a win, 0.2% of the job |
| Oak porch, supply and build | £10,000 to £15,000 | £123 a win, 1% of the job | £15 a win, 0.1% of the job |
Porch prices from Checkatrade's porch guide (table updated July 2026), which gives single figures for its uPVC sizes, and MyJobQuote's porch guide (October 2026). The canopy row is MyJobQuote's oak canopy guide (September 2026). Ranges are worked at their middle. The pack column is Leads Do Work's 20-lead general building pack, which covers every general building job, porches included, so a pack lead may not be a porch at all. One win in 3 is MyJobQuote's figure for its trades; nobody publishes an independent UK figure. Lead prices are before VAT.
A won customer should cost about 10 to 15 percent of the job. Every porch here clears that at £41: the lead is 3% of a 3m² uPVC porch, 2% of a brick one and 1% of an oak porch. Even the £1,400 oak canopy only reaches 9%. On a porch the price of the lead is rarely the problem. What the lead turns out to be is.
If it's a crack where the porch meets the house
That's a repair, and the feed charges it at the same £41 as a new brick porch. It can still pay if the porch has to come down and go back up. Ask before you drive out, and ask the seller whether a repair you didn't want can be returned.
If it's in Belfast or north Wales
The planning rules further down are England's. 2 of the 10 feed leads were outside England, so set your area tightly with any seller and check the local rules before you quote a size.
Your numbers
How much can a porch lead cost before the job stops paying you?
The calculator starts on a 3m² uPVC porch, the size that stays clear of planning. Switch to the oak canopy and then to the oak porch to see how far the ceiling moves.
WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR A PORCH LEAD?
Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth
Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.
You can pay up to about
£225
a lead, winning one in 3
- Healthy range, per won job
- £450 to £675
- Which per lead is
- £150 to £225
Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.
That 10 to 15 percent band is a rule of thumb we use across every trade. Nobody has measured it.
Who sells them
One firm sells porch leads by name. It prices them two different ways.
Below is every firm we found with a porch category, and what each says about price. Seller pages and prices are quoted from each firm's own website, and "Not stated" means the firm doesn't say.
| Seller | Price | Who else gets the lead | In their words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leads Do Work, Connect | £41 a lead + VAT, £11 a week | 1 to 3 others, 5 at most | "Windows / Building Work | Porch" |
| Leads Do Work, Smart Local | £37.20 for 5 general building leads + VAT | Other local firms | "Individual lead returns are not available" |
| MyJobQuote | Paid per lead, no porch price shown | Up to 3 trades | "Porch Builders" |
| Rated People | Not shown | Not stated | "now part of Checkatrade Group" |
| Bark | Credits, no porch price shown | Not stated | "valid for 3 months" |
| Checkatrade | £30 a month, lead plans from £59 | Not stated | "Pick a plan that fits" |
£41 on its own, or about £7 in a pack
Leads Do Work's Connect price list has one porch row, "Windows / Building Work | Porch", at £41 from a homeowner, with business leads "Not available". That's dearer than its uPVC front door row at £26 and its awnings and canopies row at £25. Its terms put 1 to 3 other firms on a job as well as you, never more than 5, and say "Connect contracts receive priority, meaning job leads are sent to Connect accounts first".
Its Smart Local packs put "Building Work | Porch" inside the general building trade, alongside damp proofing, scaffolding, demolition and two dozen more. A pack of 5 is £37.20 and a pack of 20 is £99.60, plus VAT, which is £7.44 and £4.98 a lead. The page doesn't say a pack can be kept to porches. It does say "Individual lead returns are not available", that money paid for an active pack is "non-refundable", and that the radius goes up to 40 miles. The cheap lead arrives after the Connect buyers have had it.
MyJobQuote, Rated People and Bark list porches and keep the price back
MyJobQuote has a "Porch Builders" category and starts you off with "Add a credit or debit card / Purchase leads", with up to 3 trades taking each job, but shows no porch price on its public pages. Rated People has a "Porch / Canopy" category and is "now part of Checkatrade Group", whose Approved tier is £30 a month with lead plans "from £59/mo". Bark has a porch installers page with no price, and credits that last 3 months. We couldn't read MyBuilder's porch page at all. What sharing a customer with several firms does to your quote is in the shared-lead trap, and whether a directory is worth paying for in is Checkatrade worth it.
The window and conservatory sellers skip the porch
Lead Pronto sells window and door leads from £15 and has no porch page. Zapo, formerly Get Work, runs search ads for building, glazing and conservatory firms at £400 to £1,600 a month plus VAT, again with no porch page. Leads Everyday, Leads 2 Trade and PromoSEO have nothing on porches either. If your porches come with windows and doors, that market is in our double glazing leads guide, and glazed rooms bigger than a porch are in conservatory leads.
Everything here about Leads Do Work's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 1 October 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.
Rather have porch leads that are yours alone?
That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.
See pricingWant to know how many people near you search Google for what you do each month? Message us your town and we'll send you the real numbers.
Check my areaBuying the click yourself
Google charges most for porch repairs and least for the uPVC porch itself.
"porch leads", the search a builder would type to find a seller, gets about 10 searches a month, which is as low as Google reports, and nobody bids on it. The homeowner's side is where the money goes, and it goes on fixing old porches: "porch repairs" runs to £6.28 and "porch fitters near me" to £6.44. A new porch is cheaper to reach, with "upvc porch" at £1.19 (1,900 monthly) and "oak porch" at £1.64 (3,600). The per-lead column divides each click by 7.33%, WordStream's conversion rate for home improvement search ads, which is US data, so treat it as a rough guide.
| Search | Searches a month | Per click | Per lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| porch fitters near me | 70 | £6.44 | £88 |
| porch repairs | 50 | £6.28 | £86 |
| porch roof replacement | 90 | £5.61 | £77 |
| porches near me | 320 | £3.78 | £52 |
| porch installers near me | 70 | £3.73 | £51 |
| upvc porch near me | 170 | £3.52 | £48 |
| porch builders | 210 | £3.41 | £47 |
| porch builders near me | 480 | £3.26 | £44 |
| porch replacement | 70 | £3.18 | £43 |
| new porch | 320 | £2.29 | £31 |
| brick built porch | 70 | £2.01 | £27 |
| oak porch | 3,600 | £1.64 | £22 |
| porch extension | 880 | £1.53 | £21 |
| upvc porch | 1,900 | £1.19 | £16 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 1 October 2026. Click prices are bid-based estimates, so what you actually pay will land near them rather than on them.
So a lead off "porch repairs" costs about £86 and one off "porch roof replacement" about £77, while "upvc porch" works out at about £16 for a job worth £2,800 to £4,000 as a lean-to. Across the table a lead costs £16 to £88, and 5 of the 14 searches come in under Leads Do Work's £41. "porch builders near me", the biggest search with a builder in it at 480 a month, is about £44. What your own ads get you:
- Bids on new porches, not every crack and rotten post
- Your photos of finished porches before anyone rings
- Your firm's name on the ad the customer taps
- A tight area instead of somebody else's radius
- Clicks paid to Google, with nothing added
- An ad account that leaves with you
Keeping repair searches out of a new-porch campaign is a negative keyword job, set up as in the Google Ads guide for tradesmen; a September push and a quiet December need different budgets, which is how much to spend on Google Ads.
Google Local Services Ads
Google's UK category list has no porch category, and no conservatory one either. The nearest it gets are "General contractor services" and "Window repair services", so for someone searching for a porch, ordinary search ads are the route. If you also fit windows, the Local Services Ads guide shows what that category would get you.
Before you quote a size
Three square metres decides whether a porch lead is a job or a planning application.
In England, Class D of the permitted development order lets a house have "a porch outside any external door" without a planning application, on three conditions. Break one and the customer needs a householder application before you can start.
3 square metres, measured outside
The ground area "(measured externally)" can't exceed 3 square metres. Brick walls count, so the room inside is smaller than that.
3 metres at most
No part of the porch can be more than 3 metres above ground level. A pitched roof tied into the house is the thing to measure.
2 metres from the road
No part can be within 2 metres of a boundary with a highway. On a house with a short front garden, that can rule out a front porch under these rules whatever its size.
Now set that against the price guides. Checkatrade says most UK front porches are 3 to 5m² and prices a 5m² uPVC porch at £7,500 and a 7m² one higher still. MyJobQuote prices its average at a porch of 3m². The typical porch sits right on the line, so the size in a lead decides whether you're quoting this week or after a council decision.
Checkatrade also tells homeowners they'll need planning permission if the home "is in a conservation area". Class D's own list of exclusions doesn't say that. What it does exclude is houses made by certain change-of-use rights or built under Part 20, and the Planning Portal adds flats and "Areas where there may be a planning condition, Article 4 Direction or other restriction". The government's technical guidance says to check with the council before you start, and that's the honest answer for a conservation area too.
None of this is on a lead. "want a quote for a porch" could be 2m² or 6m². Ask the size, the distance to the front boundary and whether the house is a flat before you price it, and say so in your quote. Bigger glazed rooms and their rules are in conservatory leads, and full extensions in builder leads.
Building control
Most porches skip building control. Take the front door out and the exemption can go.
The Building Regulations 2010 exempt a porch added at ground level with a floor area under 30m², provided any glazing meets the safety glazing rules in Part K. The Planning Portal spells out two more conditions for a porch to stay exempt.
- The front door between the house and the porch stays in place
- Level or ramped access to the house is not made worse
- Glazing in the porch meets Part K
- Ground level, and under 30m² of floor
FENSA doesn't cover the porch
FENSA says "the installation of a conservatory or porch falls outside the scope" of its scheme, and that it is "unable to resolve any issues with conservatories or porches".
The inner door still counts
Replace the door from the porch into the house like for like, 50% glazed or more, and FENSA says that door is in scope. On a "combined porch and front door renewal", which Leads Do Work lists as a porch job, that's the part FENSA covers.
Through the year
Porch builder searches peaked one September and bottomed out in December.
UK searches for "porch builders near me" rose to 880 in September, fell to 260 in December, about 3.4 times lower, and came back to 590 in March.
UK searches for "porch builders near me", by month
September 2025 to August 2026. Google Ads keyword data, rounded bands.
Planning questions run all winter
"porch planning permission" sat between 390 and 590 a month from September to April and dropped to 210 in July. A website that answers the 3m² question is useful to those people months before they ring anyone.
Don't plan around one September
The plain "porch builders" search jumped the same month. Until a second September repeats it, book the autumn as a normal month and let the ads catch any rush.
Where the lead came from
A porch lead may have started life on a double glazing quote site.
Leads Do Work says its jobs come mainly from its own websites, naming local-quotes.co.uk and doubleglazing.com. The ICO puts the checking on you as the buyer: checks in proportion to the risk, and a seller's assurance doesn't count as one. In January 2024 it fined Skean Homes £100,000 over home improvement calls to people on the Telephone Preference Service, after the firm blamed its lead generation provider. More home improvement cases are in our roofing leads guide.
Before you pay for porch leads, ask:
- Which website or ad did the customer fill in?
- Does the consent name my business?
- How many other porch firms get it?
- Is it a new porch, a repair or a canopy?
- Can I return a lead that is not a porch?
If the answer to the first one is doubleglazing.com, the customer may have been asking about windows too.
Which way to go
A porch lead is cheap next to the porch. The cost is in the ones that never become one.
Buy per lead if
- You build brick and oak porches
- £41 is small beside £6,750
- You ring back the same hour
- You can price a repair too
Think twice if
- Most leads give no size
- Up to 5 firms can get the call
- Pack leads cannot be returned
- Your area crosses a border
Run your own if
- You want uPVC porch searches
- You show finished porches
- You want the call to yourself
- The ad account is yours to take
Every porch in our table carries a £41 lead easily. What eats the money is the one-line lead, the repair priced like a build and the job in somebody else's planning system. How leads are sold in every other trade is in our guide to trade leads.
Our sources
Where every porch figure here came from.
One thing to know first: we sell websites and Google Ads to trades, so we have a side in this. That's why each seller is quoted in its own words, and why the tables show bought porch leads clearing the same band our own ads have to.
Seller pages and terms were read on their own sites on 1 October 2026, along with both public porch feeds. Search volumes and click prices are Google Ads data for the UK, pulled the same day. Job prices are from Checkatrade's porch guide and MyJobQuote's porch and oak canopy guides. The planning rules are from legislation.gov.uk, the Planning Portal and the government's technical guidance; building regulations from legislation.gov.uk and the Planning Portal; FENSA's scope from FENSA; Google's categories from its Local Services Ads help; and lead consent from the ICO.
Questions porch builders ask
Porch leads, answered.
- How much do porch leads cost in the UK?
- Leads Do Work is the only seller we found with a porch price: £41 a lead plus VAT on its Connect plan, with an £11 weekly fee. It also lists porch jobs inside a general building pack at £37.20 for 5 leads or £99.60 for 20, plus VAT. MyJobQuote, Rated People, Bark and Checkatrade have porch categories but publish no porch lead price. A click on your own porch ad costs £1.19 to £6.44.
- Are porch leads shared with other builders?
- Usually. Leads Do Work's terms say 1 to 3 other firms get the same job, never more than 5, and its pack leads "may also be supplied to other suitable local businesses". MyJobQuote lets up to 3 tradespeople take each job. Bark, Rated People and Checkatrade don't say on their porch pages.
- What does a bought porch lead actually say?
- Often very little. Of the 10 leads on Leads Do Work's public porch feed between April and September, 1 gave a size and 4 said little more than "need a quotes for a porch". One was a crack where the porch meets the house, and 2 were in Belfast and north Wales.
- Does a porch need planning permission?
- In England, not if it stays within Class D of the permitted development order: no more than 3 square metres of ground area measured outside, no part over 3 metres high, and nothing within 2 metres of a boundary with a road. It has to be a house, not a flat, and the council may have removed the right with an Article 4 direction or a condition. Class D's own exclusions don't mention conservation areas.
- Does a porch need building regulations approval?
- Normally not, if it is at ground level and under 30 square metres. The Planning Portal adds two conditions: the front door between the house and the porch stays in place, and the porch doesn't make level or ramped access worse. Any glazing has to meet the safety glazing rules in Part K.
- Do I need to be FENSA registered to fit a porch?
- Not for the porch. FENSA says a porch "falls outside the scope" of its scheme. Replacing the inner door into the porch is different: if it is 50% glazed or more and replaced like for like, FENSA says it is in scope.
- Can porch builders use Google Local Services Ads?
- Not as porch builders. Google's UK category list has no porch or conservatory category. The nearest are "General contractor services" and "Window repair services", so ordinary search ads are the way to reach someone searching for a porch.
- When do people search for porch builders most?
- In the last 12 months, UK searches for "porch builders near me" peaked in September at 880 and were lowest in December at 260, about 3.4 times apart, with a second high of 590 in March.
Keep reading
More straight answers for trades.
New porches in the diary, from homeowners who searched for you.
We build your website and run Google Ads from an account in your own name, aimed at the uPVC, brick and oak porches you want to build rather than every rotten post in the county. See what it costs, then tell us about your business and we'll keep the repair clicks out and the new builds in.