Last updated 24 September 2026
The lead is usually a socket. The money is in the rewire.
An electrician signing up with Zapo, the renamed Get Work, pays £400 a month plus VAT at the bottom rung, which its own lead forecast puts at about £40 per enquiry. My Trusted Expert charges by the lead and keeps its price off its website. Pay Google yourself and an electrical search costs £3.03 to £14.81 a click.
Win one quote in 3 at £40 a lead and each job you win has cost you £120. That is 2% of a house rewire and 185% of a £65 light fitting. Which of the two a lead turns out to be decides whether it paid.
One seller's live feed
8 of the last 10 were small jobs.
Leads Do Work publishes a running list of its latest electrician leads. On 23 September 2026 it listed kitchen lights, socket covers, an outdoor socket and a towel rail. The one filed under "Electrical rewiring" read "loose wire in my living room". Every seller, compared.
Where we stand
We don't sell electrician leads. We help you get your own.
This guide is the honest version of what buying electrician leads costs, and who else gets them. What we do instead is build electricians a website that turns visits into calls, and run Google Ads in an account in your own name, so every lead that comes in is a customer who found you, and nobody else was sold it.
What the job is worth
One lead price, and jobs from £65 to £8,000.
A seller charges the same for a faceplate swap as for a full rewire. Here is what each kind of electrical job pays, and what winning it costs at Zapo's estimated £40 a lead, if one quote in 3 turns into work.
| Job | Typical UK price | Lead cost per win | Share of the job |
|---|---|---|---|
| Replace a light fitting | £65 | £120 | 185% |
| Electrical safety check (EICR) | £100 to £250 | £120 | 69% |
| Replace a fuse box or consumer unit | £350 to £800 | £120 | 21% |
| Home EV charger, supplied and fitted | £1,000 | £120 | 12% |
| Rewire a 3-bed house | £4,450 to £8,000 | £120 | 2% |
Prices from Checkatrade's cost guides, several quoted before VAT: rewiring and consumer units June 2026, EV chargers April 2026, safety checks September 2024, each taken at its midpoint. The win rate of one in 3 comes from MyJobQuote's help pages. The £40 is £400 a month over the 10 leads Zapo forecasts, before VAT.
As a rough guide, landing an electrical customer shouldn't eat more than 10 to 15 percent of what the job pays. A rewire clears that easily and an EV charger sits inside it. A mid-range consumer unit already runs over, and safety checks and small fixes are nowhere near, which is what a general feed is full of. The same sum for other trades is in our trade leads guide.
If you want the big jobs
Ask a seller to filter by job type, and get it in writing. MyJobQuote lets you "Select the specific jobs you're interested in doing", and MyBuilder says the choice between big jobs and "smaller gap fillers" is yours.
If small jobs keep you busy
A socket and a light fitting can share one visit, and a fault call can turn into a consumer unit. Price those leads against the whole visit, including work the lead never mentioned.
Your numbers
Try the sum on your own electrical jobs.
Start from a consumer unit, the default below. Change the quotes-per-win to your own, put in a price per lead, then switch to a rewire and see the verdict flip.
WHAT CAN YOU PAY FOR AN ELECTRICIAN LEAD?
Pick a job, or type in what yours are worth
Starts on one in three, the figure MyJobQuote tells its own trades to expect. Put in yours.
You can pay up to about
£29
a lead, winning one in 3
- Healthy range, per won job
- £58 to £86
- Which per lead is
- £19 to £29
Put a seller's price in the last box and this will tell you what each won job would cost you.
The 10 to 15 percent band is a rough rule of thumb, not a measured figure.
Who sells them
Seven places selling electrician leads, and their terms.
Each is quoted from its own electrician page, pricing page or terms. Where one company says two different things, you get both.
| Seller | Price | Who else gets the lead | In their words |
|---|---|---|---|
| My Trusted Expert | Per lead, not published | Nobody, one firm per area | "Never Shared, Never Resold" |
| Get Work (now Zapo) | £400 to £1,600 + VAT a month | Nobody | "exclusive to your business" |
| Leads Everyday | Monthly fee, not published | Nobody | "never shared with competitors" |
| MyJobQuote | Credits, not published | Up to 3 tradespeople | "Up to 3 tradesmen can accept details" |
| MyBuilder | A fee when you are shortlisted | Whoever the customer picks | "customers decide who to share their details with" |
| Leads Do Work | Per lead or weekly, not published | Not stated | "a fixed-price weekly subscription" |
| Checkatrade | Fixed membership, not published | Not stated | "a certain number of leads throughout the year" |
My Trusted Expert won't take a one-man band
The top seller for this search promises "20 To 50 Electrician Leads A Week", pay per lead, with no monthly fee and one electrical firm per area. The entry rules come first, though. You need 3 years of trading and "at least 3 vans on the road with a minimum of 3+ people", and it says plainly: "if you are a one-man band unfortunately we would not be able to work with you."
It also wants a same-day service, weekend visits and someone on the phone at all times, because "90% of our enquiries come via live phone calls". It turns away anyone after a top-up: "If you just want help to fill quiet periods then we are not a right fit for you." Its terms say it earns "a fee in respect of each enquiry". We found no figure for that fee on its website, so ask for it in writing before you apply.
Zapo, formerly Get Work, counts searches two ways
Zapo's electrician page promises leads "exclusive to your business" from search ads, "within the next 14 days". Half of the £400 Launch fee, £200, is spent on the ads themselves, and Zapo forecasts 10 leads a month from it. Get Work's electrical page, still live, says "Over 3.6 million people search Google for an electrician each month" near the top and "over 3.2 million" further down. Neither says which searches it counts. The single biggest one, "electrician near me", runs at 74,000 a month in Google's own data.
Leads Everyday names the jobs you want
Its electrician page lists "domestic rewires, consumer unit upgrades, fault finding, lighting installations", and promises "Targeted Google Ads", a website built for you and "Cancel anytime". Step two of its own process reads "We build targeted lists and craft compelling outreach." A search ad and a cold list reach very different customers, so ask which one your fee pays for. No price is published.
MyJobQuote and MyBuilder share the job out
MyJobQuote's terms let up to 3 tradespeople take the details for each job, and its credits expire after 6 months unused. Its electrician page lists "Outdoor socket installation" in the same breath as "Full or partial house rewiring". On MyBuilder the customer shortlists, and you pay when they share their details, whether or not you win. The sample leads on its electrician sign-up page included a stuck switch and three light fittings. We weigh up the platform in is MyBuilder worth it, and what three electricians quoting one rewire does to your win rate in the shared-lead trap.
Leads Do Work and Checkatrade keep the price back
Leads Do Work offers a pay-per-lead account or "a fixed-price weekly subscription", with leads from "a network of over 300 home improvement websites, blogs and related online content". Checkatrade's article for electricians offers a fixed membership where "you can expect a certain number of leads throughout the year". Neither puts a price on it.
Everything here about My Trusted Expert's contract comes from its own published terms and conditions, last read on 23 September 2026. Terms get revised, so check yours against the current version before you act on anything.
Rather have electrician leads that are yours alone?
That's what we do. We don't sell leads. We build the website and run the Google Ads that bring electrician customers straight to you, in an ad account in your name that stays yours if you ever leave.
See pricingBuying the click yourself
The cheapest electrical clicks are the jobs worth having.
Emergencies are the dear end: "emergency electrician near me" runs at £14.81 a click. The planned big jobs are the cheap end, with "house rewire" at £4.65 and "consumer unit replacement" at £3.06. To turn clicks into leads we've assumed WordStream's 7.33%home improvement rate, a US benchmark, so the lead column is an estimate rather than a quote.
| Search | Searches a month | Per click | Per lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| emergency electrician near me | 4,400 | £14.81 | £202 |
| emergency electrician | 4,400 | £13.21 | £180 |
| electrical safety certificate | 3,600 | £8.76 | £120 |
| landlord electrical certificate | 1,300 | £8.18 | £112 |
| electrician near me | 74,000 | £7.01 | £96 |
| eicr certificate | 18,100 | £6.56 | £89 |
| ev charger installation | 18,100 | £6.13 | £84 |
| fuse board replacement | 480 | £5.54 | £76 |
| house rewire | 1,600 | £4.65 | £63 |
| fuse box replacement | 880 | £4.34 | £59 |
| consumer unit replacement | 170 | £3.06 | £42 |
| electrical fault finding | 390 | £3.03 | £41 |
Google Ads data for the UK, pulled 23 September 2026. Click prices are bid-based estimates, so most advertisers pay less per click.
Worked through, your own ads cost £41 to £202 a lead, against Zapo's estimated £40. Per lead, the bought one is usually cheaper, and far cheaper on an emergency search. What you buy with your own account is the choice of which electrical work you pay to hear about:
- Bid on rewires and consumer units
- Skip faceplates and light swaps
- Run call-out ads only when you answer
- No three-van entry rule
- Pay Google direct, no markup
- The account stays yours
One extra rewire at £4,450 to £8,000 pays for a lot of clicks at £4.65. How big a monthly budget suits an electrical firm your size is worked through in how much to spend on Google Ads.
What the lead lets you do
Part P splits electrician leads in two.
In England, Approved Document P names three kinds of notifiable electrical work: "the installation of a new circuit", "the replacement of a consumer unit", and changes to circuits in a special location, the zone round a bath or shower. Then it says: "All other electrical installation work is not notifiable".
That puts the dear jobs and the cheap ones on opposite sides of the line. On gov.uk, work that may need approval includes "replace fuse boxes and connected electrics", while new power and lighting points outside bathrooms are exempt.
Rewires, consumer units, new circuits
Notifiable. Registered with a competent person scheme, you certify it yourself, and gov.uk says the customer gets a certificate "within 8 weeks of completion" that turns up in solicitors' searches when they sell. Not registered, it goes through building control. An EV charger on its own new circuit falls here too.
Sockets, lights, repairs
Not notifiable outside the bathroom zone, as long as you add to an existing circuit. The work still has to meet the standards. Near a bath or shower the rules tighten, which our bathroom leads guide covers.
The landlord EICR comes round again
Under the 2020 private rented sector regulations, a landlord in England must have the installation "inspected and tested at regular intervals by a qualified person", at least every 5 years, and hand tenants the report within 28 days. The fine for a breach can reach £30,000. "eicr certificate" draws 18,100 searches a month. A safety check pays little on its own, but the law brings every landlord back for another.
Sellers know this matters. My Trusted Expert asks for proof of qualifications such as Part P before it sends a lead, and Leads Do Work tells electricians that customers look for NICEIC, NAPIT or ELECSA. Put your scheme on your website and your quotes, because a lead for a consumer unit is only worth buying if you can sign it off.
Through the year
Emergency call-outs peak in November.
Demand for an "emergency electrician" topped out in November and bottomed out across April, May, June and July. Autumn and winter ran well above spring and summer, which suits a firm that can answer a call at night and go out the same day.
UK searches for "emergency electrician", by month
September 2025 to August 2026. Google Ads keyword data, rounded bands.
A dark-months trade
November sits about 1.8 times above April, May, June and July, the quiet stretch.
Move the budget with it
A pay-per-lead feed charges the same in April, May, June and July as in November. With your own ads, the call-out budget can shrink in summer and the spare can go on planned rewires.
When the phone rings
Most bought electrician leads arrive as a live call.
My Trusted Expert puts 90% of its leads through as phone calls and tells electricians they "MUST be able to always answer". Get Work says "You're 100x more likely to get in touch with your electrical lead in the first 5 minutes", which is its figure, not a study. An electrician on their own can't always pick up mid-job, so a missed call is a lead paid for and lost.
We cover the study behind reply speed in our roofing leads guide. For an electrician the practical answer is someone, or something, picking up while you work.
A call-out can't be cancelled. The upsell can.
The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 give a customer 14 days to cancel work agreed in their home, but not when they "specifically requested a visit from the trader for the purpose of carrying out urgent repairs". That exception stops at the repair itself:
- The urgent fix they asked for: no 14 days
- Extra work sold on the visit: 14 days
- No cancellation form: up to 12 months more
- Early start? Get the request in writing
So the fault call is safe, and the consumer unit you quote while you're there is not. Give the cancellation information with that quote, because leaving it out is also an offence.
Where the lead came from
Ask a lead seller how the customer found them.
The ICO puts the checking on you: buy an electrical lead and you're expected to make "proportionate checks and due diligence" on how it was gathered. We found no ICO fine naming an electrician. The home improvement fines, one of them against a lead seller, are set out in the roofing guide.
My Trusted Expert's terms say calls made from its website are "directed to or passed to a supplier", so the customer rang its number, not yours. Before you pay any seller, ask:
- Which ad did the customer answer?
- Was my firm named when they agreed?
- How many electricians got it?
- Is it a socket or a rewire?
- Can I turn down jobs below a size?
Which way to go
Size of firm first, then the jobs you can certify.
Buy per lead if
- You run three vans or more
- Small jobs pay your way
- Someone answers every call
- You check the consent
Think twice if
- You work on your own
- You want rewires, not faceplates
- A lead costs more than the job
- Two others get the same lead
Run your own if
- You self-certify under Part P
- You want consumer units
- You set your own call hours
- Your account, kept if you leave
Plenty of electricians use both: a feed to cover a slow week, and their own ads for the rewires and consumer units they would rather be doing. Weighing a directory membership instead? Our verdict on one is in is Checkatrade worth it.
How we know
What this guide is built on.
We're not neutral. We build websites and run Google Ads for electricians, and this guide still says where a bought lead costs less than a click you pay for yourself.
Every seller above is quoted from its own electrician page and terms, as they stood on 23 September 2026. Click prices and search volumes are Google Ads data for the UK, pulled the same day. Job prices are from Checkatrade's rewiring, consumer unit, EV charger and safety check cost guides. Part P, the landlord duty and the call-out exception are taken from gov.uk, Approved Document P and legislation.gov.uk. All three are English law, and electricians in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland work to their own.
Before you pay
What electricians ask before buying leads.
- How much do electrician leads cost in the UK?
- Zapo, formerly Get Work, charges £400 to £1,600 a month plus VAT to run search ads for electricians, which on its cheapest plan comes to about £40 for each lead it estimates. My Trusted Expert charges per lead but publishes no price, and MyJobQuote sells credits without a public price list. Buying the click yourself, an electrical search costs £3.03 to £14.81, going by Google Ads data for the UK.
- Are most electrician leads small jobs?
- On the feeds we read, yes. Of the 10 latest electrician leads Leads Do Work had posted on 23 September 2026, 8 were filed as small electrical work, and the one filed as a rewire was a loose wire. At about £40 a lead and one win in 3, a won job costs about £120, which is more than Checkatrade's £65 for changing a light fitting.
- Can a one-man band buy electrician leads?
- Not from every seller. My Trusted Expert asks for at least 3 vans, 3 or more people and 3 years of trading, and says it will not work with a one-man band. Leads Do Work says it takes sole traders as well as teams, and MyJobQuote and MyBuilder let you pick the jobs you want.
- Do I need Part P registration to take the bigger electrical jobs?
- In England, a new circuit, a new consumer unit, and any change to circuits in the zone round a bath or shower are notifiable under Approved Document P. Registered with a competent person scheme, you certify the work yourself. Without one, the work goes through building control. Sockets, lights and repairs outside that bathroom zone are not notifiable, though they still have to be done safely.
- How often does a landlord need an EICR?
- In England, private landlords must have the electrical installation inspected and tested by a qualified person at least every 5 years, or sooner if the last report says so, and give each tenant a copy within 28 days. A council can fine a landlord up to £30,000 for a breach.
- When do people search for an emergency electrician most?
- UK searches for "emergency electrician" were highest in November and lowest in April, May, June and July, about 1.8 times lower. Call-out searches ran higher from autumn into winter than through spring and summer.
- Can a customer cancel an emergency electrical repair?
- Not usually. The Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013 take away the 14-day right to cancel when the customer asked you round for urgent repairs. It comes back for anything extra you sell on the same visit, such as a new consumer unit, and if you never gave them the cancellation information, their window runs up to 12 months longer.
- Is it legal to buy electrician leads?
- Yes, but the ICO expects any business buying marketing data to check where it came from, and says taking a seller's word for it is not enough. We found no ICO fine that names electricians. The fines in home improvement, including one against a lead seller, are covered in our roofing leads guide.
Keep reading
More straight answers for trades.
Put the rewires in your diary, not in a seller's weekly feed.
Your website, built by us. Your Google Ads, run by us from an account opened in your name, bidding on the consumer units, rewires and chargers you want, in the towns you cover. See what it costs, then tell us about your trade and we'll point the ads at the jobs worth your van.